Roundtable Review: Fuoco Fatuo – The Viper Slithers in the Ashes of What Remains

GD30OBH.pdfLabel: Iron Tyrant

Release Date: CD, 17 February 2014; Vinyl, 31 March 2014

Songs: 5

Length: 53 minutes

Genre: Funeral doom

Studio Albums: This is their debut album

Location: Varese, Italy

WarpRider – This is probably going to seem strange, but I am too impatient to listen to this music. That’s not to say it’s bad, but its slow, doom-riddled cadence is making me impatient as I tend to like a more rhythmic, speedy tempo. However, the music is dark and deathly which I find appealing. 2.5

Atleastimhousebroken While funeral doom isn’t my go to flavor of doom, it is a style I can appreciate from time to time. Fuoco Fatuo don’t really keep my attention for me to garner any appreciation. The songs were too long and overly drony without that Sunn O))) drone o’ death that keeps me at the edge of my seat while listening. If you realllllly like funeral doom you may enjoy this album, but otherwise I can’t honestly recommend it. 2.0

Irmelinis – A rumbling, vibrating, cold atmosphere of utter despair. Mega-doomy, weighty nightmares of terror and tremolo picking. 3.0

ChristopherMammal – It takes 90 seconds of mainly nothing before the music kicks in. When it does, it sets up harmonic resonance in whichever parts of you are the deepest. The band is good but the music might have been better with more variety in the compositions. The start of each song feels more like a brief interlude in one album-long dirge that doesn’t change much. 3.2

A Metal State of Mind Score – 2.7

 

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on February 18, 2014, in Roundtable Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

