Roundtable Review: Frail Grounds – The Fields of Trauma

Frail Grounds CoverLabel: Hostile Media

Release Date: 3 March 2014

Songs: 11

Length: 56 minutes

Genre: Prog power metal

Studio Albums: Corrosion (EP, 2008)

Location: Oslo, Norway

WarpRider – Overall, they have a cool cadence and I appreciate their use of double bass drum and their ability to harmonize. Despite a few features they have that I find music to my ears, I didn’t find myself overly captivated from beginning to end; though a few songs stood out. 3.0

Atleastimhousebroken This was pretty interesting at first. I really enjoyed the Helloween flavored guitars with the death growls mixed with the cheesy power metal vocals, and then the first song ended and I was left with an average power metal record. The contrasting growls popped up here and there throughout the record, but not nearly enough to pull me back into the fold. And to think I actually thought someone was doing something interesting with power metal for a change, oh well. 2.0

Irmelinis – An album with an interesting or unusual concept will always catch my attention and make me investigate further. Like this one. It has some nice melancholic power/prog songs that are sometimes majestic, sometimes laid back with a nice rhythm section and fine melodies. At times slightly reminiscent of Helloween’s Keeper Of The Seven Keys, except with tired, uninspired vocals. 2.5

ChristopherMammal – Frail Grounds explore beyond prog metal and power metal, venturing into the sombre realms of heavy prog and the lush terrain of neo-prog. Their music ranges from fairly hard power metal, complete with dark vocals, to serene cello and violin duets that call to mind the structure of Slavic classical music of the Romantic era. In addition to followers of the more introspective forms of prog/power metal, I’d recommend this album to fans of prog bands such as Galahad, The Reasoning or Konchordat. 3.8

A Metal State of Mind Score – 2.8

 

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on February 17, 2014, in Roundtable Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

