Roundtable Review: Karhide – Remember Remember

a2775808692_10

Release Date: 2 December 2013

Songs: 7

Length: 31 minutes

Genre: Alternative/post-rock/electronic/instrumental

Studio Albums: Rough Sleep EP 2013, two splits

Location:  Southampton, UK

.

WarpRider – I can appreciate instrumental music, but Remember Remember was mostly repetitive to me except for “Case Statement” & the remixed version of some of their songs. 2.0

Atleastimhousebroken To me this sounded like it would be a perfect fit for an artsy indie video game soundtrack (I say that in the positive).  At times it reminded me of Jim Guthrie’s work on Super Brothers: Sword and Swocery E.P. or a darker version of Disasterpeace’s work on FEZ. Unfortunately it feels like one of those game soundtracks that work much better in the context of the game and tends to be a bit boring outside of a virtual world unlike the pair I mentioned above.  I did appriciate the mellow soundscapes and what not, but I think it needs a bit more to work as something I could completely get lost in.  Karhide should seriously look into doing some video game soundtracks though, that just may be their calling. 2.0

Irmelinis – After having spent quite a lot of time lately listening to post rock/electronic, and being a sucker for remixes/alternate versions of songs I can really appreciate this album. I like that it’s diverse but not too much going on in the songs; it’s spacey, hypnotic and very relaxing without being slow-paced. The strings are so beautiful, the electronic noises are never too abundant and there’s always a sincere feeling present in the songs. I would love to experience Karhide’s music live and this album goes on my to-buy-list. 4.0

ChristopherMammal – If the main style on this half-hour was post rock, it might do more to attract metal fans. I fear it may not win over huge numbers of prog fans either. The approach that I discerned is too much oriented towards ambient and trance music. The fourth track, “Case Statement”, is the only one with real oomph. The last three tracks are remixes of the second tracks. That generates a suspicion that they never got the song quite right. The remixes are more ambience, trance and some dance. 2.5

A Metal State Of Mind score2.6 out of 5

.
About Irmelinis

A friend told me that I was delusional. I almost fell off my unicorn.

Posted on February 12, 2014, in Album Reviews, Roundtable Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

