Mik’s Top 100 Favourite Albums of All Time #10-6

Top100A while ago, at the same time as Matt and Reggie, I posted my Top 100 All Time Favourite (Metal) Albums over at the forum The History of Metal on FB. It took a good amount of time and effort to put it together, but it was so much fun! My taste in metal is always changing, so the list will not always look the same. In fact, it’s already a bit different than it was when I first put it together and posted it on the forum seven months ago.

I tried to limit myself to three albums per band to make the list a little more diverse and interesting. I don’t really consider the ‘test of time’-factor when selecting what albums that will go on my list, instead I measure it by how strongly the album has affected me emotionally and how much/often it has helped me through both good and bad phases in my life. That’s why you can find quite a few newer releases among my favourites too.

.

#10 Anaal Nathrakh – Vanitas

Intriguing and entertaining in every way. The melodies, the lyrical themes, the insane music and incomprehensible singing/noises. I love this album to bits.

.

#9 Textures – Dualism

Textures’ best album. Since the previous album they’ve changed vocalist and keyboard player. It was obviously a successful move; this album is close to perfect and it’s impossible to get tired of it. Songs like ‘Arms Of The Sea’ and ‘Sanguine Draws the Oath’ are great examples of the fantastic melodies they create, the variety in their music and the vocalist’s strong voice.

.

#8 Uneven Structure – Februus

This one touches my heart every time I play it. It might be one of the most passionate albums I’ve ever heard (they also give a fantastic live performance). I love the interplay between the instruments, the sorrowful power in the vocals, the depth and structures in the music and how all the songs belong together, creating a long, beautiful story.

.

#7 ISIS – Panopticon

There should have been at least one more ISIS album on this list. But it’s difficult to fit more than a hundred albums on a top 100 list, unless you cheat and put two in the same spot. And it’s more fun to give place to a bigger number of different bands. I started listening to ISIS just when their last album came out, before their break up (why, God, why?) and strangely enough their music is still growing on me. Music that lasts for a long, long time. ISIS includes all the important elements; heaviness, depth, darkness, great melodies and interesting lyrical themes… a challenging and rewarding listen.

.

#6 Skyharbor – Illusion And Chaos: Blinding White Noise

Even though I enjoy doing it, I always hesitate to write about my absolute favourites in music, because it feels so personal. It’s like handing out a piece of your heart to the readers. I discovered Skyharbor on Youtube, back when they were called Hydrodjent (and were “only” the guitarist Keshav Dhar’s  instrumental project) and started to get addicted to the crushing riffs, polyrhythms and many, many layers of intriguing guitar work. And soon they were a full-fledged band with extremely talented musicians and with guests like Marty Friedman (ex-Megadeth); I didn’t think it could get any better. Until they added my favourite singer to the line up. Wow! Perfection happened. This band and their music makes my heart jump with joy, they’ll have their second album out later this year and I could not be more excited!

.
About Irmelinis

A friend told me that I was delusional. I almost fell off my unicorn.

Posted on February 7, 2014, in Mik's Top 100 Albums and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thumbs up for the inclusion of Anaal Nathrakh & ISIS!

Leave a Reply

