Roundtable Review: Atlases – Upbringing EP

ATLASES-UpbringingLabel: Self-released

Release Date:  January 20th 2014

Songs:  6

Length: 23 minutes

Genre:  Hardcore/Metalcore

Location:  Berkshire, UK

.

WarpRider – I like the aggressive rhythm, but the vocal style throws me off.  It seems more fitting for a hardcore band.  Needless to say, I like any music I can throw a chair to and Atlases fits that bill. 2.8

Atleastimhousebroken Djenty old-school hardcore sounds pretty neat…. Until that same damn djent riff becomes moldier than that science experiment of leftover supper hidden in the back of my fridge. Atlases have promise, but that will never be achieved until there is a lot more variety in the djent end of their sound. 1.5 

Irmelinis – A decent, loud, gritty and raw sounding EP from a promising band. Unfortunately the songs and the vocals are too repetitive for it to be really enjoyable. But I have to say that’s a really nice looking album cover. 2.0

ChristopherMammal – Rule number 1: Do not call this Screamo. It is Metalcore. Rule number 2: Can we call it Chanto, then? There are some good musicians in the band and they play some good music. For me, though, the vocals come across as too frantic. You can hear every word clearly. That’s good. The vocal range spans maybe four notes. That’s less good. 2.5

A Metal State of Mind Score – 2.2 out of 5

https://www.facebook.com/AtlasesUK

.
About Irmelinis

A friend told me that I was delusional. I almost fell off my unicorn.

Posted on February 5, 2014, in Album Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

