Roundtable Review: Black Space Riders – D:REI

13_10_17 lp_sleeve.inddLabel:  BSR

Release Date: N/A

Songs:   13

Length:  79 Minutes

Genre:  Extraterrestrial Metal

Studio Albums:   This is their third album

Location:  Germany

WarpRider – Sludgy and spacey at the same time.  They have a bit of a repetitive drone to them, but overall I like their rhythmic cadence; I find it soothing.  3.5

Irmelinis – This album took some time to get into; maybe because I’m not used to listening to this kind of spacey, doomy, stoner music. I ended up liking it a lot more than I first thought I would, mainly because how well the band pulled off creating music with a wide range of influences, a diverse and rocking sound while the album still feels very coherent without getting boring. That’s always a big plus! 3.5

ChristopherMammal – They could have cut the 90 seconds of nothing before any real sound comes of out the speakers. Once the album gets going, however, it takes off at enough G’s to flatten my huge ears against my tiny skull. If you’ve ever been a psychedelic/space rock junkie, this stoner-sludge space metal will fill you with so many friendly cosmic rays that you’ll twinkle brightly like crystalline carbon in the firmament. Dr. Mammal prescribes large doses of Black Space Riders. 4.3

A Metal State of Mind Score – 3.8 out of 5 

About Reggie

Just a dude writing a heavy metal blog and always on the prowl for a cool metal show. I am also a family man...first and foremost!

Posted on February 4, 2014, in Roundtable Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. A nice surprise! I did a review of “D:REI” myself for a fanzine I write for. I agree with what is said. Especially to keep a record interesting that spans about 80 minutes is admirable.

    A question for Mammal: How do come to the decimals in your reviews? Seems there are more complex criteria behind your rating;-)

Leave a Reply

