Roundtable Review: Abyssal – Novit Enim Dominus Qui Sunt Eius

abyssal coverLabel: Iron Bonehead Productions

Release Date: 1 January 201331 January 2014 (DLP)

Tracks: 11

Length: 59:22

Genre: The blackest and darkest death/doom

Studio Albums: Denouement, 2012

Location: UK

 

WarpRider – This is loud, thunderous, and shocks my senses.  Sometimes I have to wonder how human vocal chords can get so low to the point where only animals and some humans with trained ears can hear it.  It’s simply not my cup of tea, but I do like how brutal the music can be at times and that’s what I cling to.  2.5

Atleastimhousebroken- Loud, chaotic, and evil as fuck. Should be right up my alley, right? Well, not so much. While an outstanding mood piece, Abyssal doesn’t carry much in the way of fluidity or coherence and everything just kind of blends together. Like literally. I had to check on multiple occasions to make sure I didn’t have other music playing in another player on my computer. But like I said, it is outstanding at what I expect it tries to be, dark, chaotic, and evil as fuck. If you need some music to pester you righteous neighbors, do pick this one up and play at full volume. Metal State takes no responsibility for loss of sanity. 2.0

Irmelinis – Some days I really like this album. On other days I can’t even stand one song of this dense, evil brutality slowly creeping into my mind…  2.5

ChristopherMammal – “For the Lord knows his own.” That’s the album title in Latin. Whichever doom lord these guys are playing for, he must be crapping himself in terror that they’ll move into his hell and bring its walls crashing down. This is an album of sustained loudness interrupted occasionally by music and more often by discords or by an amplifier rammed down a blue whale’s throat. 2.0

A Metal State Of Mind Score 2,25 out of 5

About Irmelinis

A friend told me that I was delusional. I almost fell off my unicorn.

Posted on February 4, 2014, in Album Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

