Roundtable Reviews: A Good Day to Bury Bad News by Mark McCabe

Album ArtworkArtist/Album: Mark McCabe – A Good Way to Bury Bad News

Label:  Cats? Aye! Records

Release Date:  20 Jan. 2014

Songs:   11

Length:  About 40 min.

Genre:  Alt. Country/Folk

Studio Albums:   This is his 2nd album

Location:  Scotland

WarpRider – Though I can appreciate a guy and his guitar, I do not find the music grabbing me.  Having said that, I do think he is a talented artist and the music is a nice contrast to blast beats and relentless screaming.  Nice touch, just not for me in this case.  3.0

Atleastimhousebroken- This was a nice little diversion sent to us among the slew of metal releases we get bombarded with.  Maybe because Alt. Country isn’t a genre I am very familiar with or a huge fan of, I can’t say there was anything on this record that would push me to want to explore the genre more like say a Wilco, Conner Oberst/Bright Eyes, or Munly and the Lee Lewis Harlots release would, and have done.  On the flipside, AGDTBBN was an enjoyable listen that had a lot of similarities to the previously mentioned Conner Oberst, especially in the quivery voice and meloncholic songs.  If you happen to want to take a chance on something completely different than metal, I’d say give this a listen even though it’s far from the best the genre has to offer. 3.0

Irmelinis – First I hear Marc McCabe’s wonderful accent, which makes me sigh happily, and then just a minute into the second track I hear the beautiful sound of strings. That’s all it took for me to fall for it. Well, no, that’s only partially true, but damn that second song is good! Mr McCabe’s music reminds me of the Australian singer/songwriter Pete Murray (who I love but you’ve probably never heard of), with the same sensitive, emotional voice and well written, overly melancholic tunes. The difference is McCabe’s album is lacking memorable hooks which makes for a very introspective, relaxing listen, but also one that doesn’t have a huge replay value. 3.5

ChristopherMammal – If you want a break from metal, hard rock or prog of any sort, you may find this to be a pleasant diversion. It’s folk with a soft alternative rock feeling about it. Since it’s not the type of music I know much or listen to by choice, I shall try to be objective and say it’s very well executed and should be mellow listening for those who enjoy the more lyrical types of radio music. 3.0

A Metal State of Mind Score – 3.25 out of 5

About RiffRaff

Just takin' it easy for all you sinners.

Posted on January 24, 2014, in Roundtable Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I would agree with Irmelinis in particular. Nice. Not more not less. To grab me it lacks intensity.

Leave a Reply

