Mik’s Top 100 Favourite Albums of All Time #15-11

Top100A while ago, at the same time as Matt and Reggie, I posted my Top 100 All Time Favourite (Metal) Albums over at the forum The History of Metal on FB. It took a good amount of time and effort to put it together, but it was so much fun! My taste in metal is always changing, so the list will not always look the same. In fact, it’s already a bit different than it was when I first put it together and posted it on the forum seven months ago.

I tried to limit myself to three albums per band to make the list a little more diverse and interesting. I don’t really consider the ‘test of time’-factor when selecting what albums that will go on my list, instead I measure it by how strongly the album has affected me emotionally and how much/often it has helped me through both good and bad phases in my life. That’s why you can find quite a few newer releases among my favourites too.

.

#15 Tool – 10, 000 Days

An album that took forever to get into and eventually ended up being one of my most loved records. It’s quite different from Tool’s other albums, more emotional and quirky.  I can’t choose a favourite song, but these two tracks, dedicated to the singer’s mother who passed away after being paralyzed for 10,000 days, includes some of the most beautiful music this band has ever composed.

.

#14 Centiment – Streets of Rage

Released this month, it’s a very new addition to my collection, but Centiment’s “Streets of Rage” hit me so hard I just have to include it in this list. It has some of the best and most addictive melodies I’ve ever heard, absolutely fantastic lyrics and the perfect balance between fun and seriousness, melody and aggression, cleans and harsh vocals, happiness and sorrow, electronics and instruments. The singer is mind-blowingly good, with a lovely British accent and a voice more powerful than Superman. It just can’t be described, you need to listen. (full album on Bandcamp)

.

#13 Gojira – L’enfant Sauvage

I was very late in discovering Gojira, it actually didn’t happen until last year for some strange reason. And what can I write, that you don’t already know about this excellent group of riffing musicians and metal-hippies? This was the album that made me fall for them, the title track is the song that always makes me feel extra warm and fuzzy and this “There’s no way I will respond to this passion and anger flowing through me. There is light in this world I fight for” from the same song, is my favourite piece of Gojira-lyrics.

.

#12 Twelve Foot Ninja – Silent Machine

The Ninjas! ❤ This album makes me dance. And laugh. And just feel generally awesome. Seeing The Ninjas live was the most fun I’ve had on a concert, their positive energy in the music is incredibly infectious and the odd mix of styles like bossa nova, rock, prog metal and jazz is very entertaining. There was a comic book released with the album, putting the lyrics of the songs into the context of a manga story about a twelve feet tall ninja, it was really neat. Also, don’t miss out on their hilarious music videos!

.

#11 Benea Reach – Alleviat

I’ll continue to expose my love for odd bands no one else here likes.. Only a couple left now! This is another band that makes varied, dynamic music, mixing many styles, with an exceptional singer. It’s a blend of almost everything I like.. sludge, post, alternative, prog, melodic, djent, metalcore, death. The vocals are just as diverse, I almost can’t believe it’s the same guy. Those screams, wow! Their 2013 release ended up on my end of the year list and was so good it will have to be integrated into this list soon too.

.
About Irmelinis

A friend told me that I was delusional. I almost fell off my unicorn.

Posted on January 24, 2014, in Mik's Top 100 Albums and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Interesting list. The Twelve foot Ninja video is really funny. Centiment is the only band I just don’t like, the production… you know;-) 10,000 days was my first Tool record and surprisingly easy for me to get in (mainly because of the catchy Vicarious), especially considering that back then it was far off the other heavy music I listened to (Blind Guardian, In Flames, Korn, Slipknot etc.).

    PS: I checked the bands on your list for 2013 and there were some good discoveries. And Caligula’s Horse is definitely one of favourites as well.

    • I was late in my discovery of Tool, I knew about them for the longest time, but never really cared for their music. One day I just sat down with their discography (on youtube), the lyrics and started from the first album, listened all the way through and all the songs clicked with me. Except for the ones on 10,000 days, like I said, it took a while longer. Weird how that works.

      Oh great, another Caligula’s Horse fan! 😀

Leave a Reply

