Roundtable Album Review: Graveborne – Through The Window Of The Night

GraveborneLabel: Séance Records

Release Date: 20 January 2014

Songs: 9

Length: 36 minutes

Genre: Black metal

Studio Albums: One previous album

Location: Finland

WarpRider – Black metal (if I described this appropriately) is like the final frontier for me, the one metal subgenre that eludes me because of my propensity to not like it too much. The strong suit here for me is the fact that the music is brutal and it often takes a more subtle approach. I think I need that vocalist to yell at my kids when they step out of line. 3.0

Atleastimhousebroken – Solid black metal. Nothing real adventurous nor ear grabbing, but nothing that is offensive to the ears. Not much else to say. 2.5

Irmelinis – This I like. Through The Window Of The Night (awesome album title, but why such a boring band name?) gives me the familiar feeling of early black metal bands, but with a more bass-y and full sound. It doesn’t break many of black metal’s tight, traditional boundaries; if this is good or bad is up to the listener. The music goes on relentlessly and energetically through the whole album and leaves a good, solid impression. It’s nice to see a couple of songs in the band’s own language too! 3.5

ChristopherMammal – The largely unembellished, standard ’90s form of black metal that Graveborne delivers has a strength and a vulnerability. On the up side, it’s the type of music that draws in the loyal and sometimes hypercritical fans who don’t go much for the more modern variations of the genre. The down side is that this is a highly competitive style in a genre with a tight following. The band is very good, but I wonder if this album is distinctive enough to make it stand out. 3.5

A Metal State of Mind Score 3.1

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on January 16, 2014, in Album Reviews, Roundtable Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

