Monday Metal Madness – 56th Grammy’s

1015599-grammy-award-617-409It’s time for the *yawn* Grammy’s; excuse me I don’t mean to be rude, but this normally a waste of time for metal and for people who like metal.  However, this year might be a bit different.  Keep in mind this is America; we are talking about a country where metal is not as out in the open as it is across Europe.  I miss Europe!  I can see where my European friends would think this is a weak list of “metal” bands, and I would normally agree, but again this America and I want to point out one thing.  These are all metal bands.  Last year, Halestorm beat out Megadeth, Anthrax, Marilyn Manson, Iron Maiden and Lamb of God if I remember correctly.  Really?  Nothing against the catchy Halestorm, but they won out of sheer popularity and record sales.  They got played on the radio…during daylight hours.  It just goes to show that the people who run the Grammy’s and/or cast votes know nothing about “great” metal.  Again, nothing against Halestorm, I do like them, but how does a band like that beat such heavyweights?  The year before, Foo Fighters cleaned house and though they are a great band, I wouldn’t exactly call them metal.  Again, they beat out actual metal bands.

This year the Grammy’s air on Tuesday Jan, 26th in case you have absolutely nothing to do.  I have no intention of watching it, but I will check out the results.  The nominees are Dream Theater, Anthrax, Volbeat, Killswitch Engage, and Black Sabbath.  I’d have to say, based on past winners, this is a kind-of-a-win for metal…though I can think of many metal bands that recorded much better music in 2013.  If metal is going to be recognized for what it is, this is a good start.

For this Monday Metal Madness, cast your vote and let A Metal State of Mind see what you’re thinking and we’ll do a follow-up after the *yawn* Grammy’s.  Here are some video clips for the songs that are up for the win.  Sometimes I wonder who picks these songs as well.  The Volbeat songs is not indicative of the rest of the songs on the album and Anthrax is a cover song.  You can be nominated for a Grammy recording someone else’s song?  Anyway, this is for the award of Best Metal Performance.

About Reggie

Just a dude writing a heavy metal blog and always on the prowl for a cool metal show. I am also a family man...first and foremost!

Posted on January 13, 2014, in Polls and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

