Song of the Week – I’m Broken

For those of you that know me, you know that I work for the military machine known as the U.S. Air Force.  A lot of things have been going on in my world that I want to vent about.  If you haven’t heard, cuts need to be made.  In addition to a selection of aircraft, 25K people need to go.  I was informed that my records will be “looked at” and a determination will be made later as to whether or not my services will be needed or not.  Yeah, I could get my walking papers with 24,999 other people.  Luckily I have 22 years under my belt so, no matter what happens I will be able to get my retirement and move on to (hopefully) greener pastures.  Yeah, I am one of the lucky ones all things considered, but I would much rather retire on MY terms.

I went to briefing today and left there feeling a little more confused than before I went in.  I felt Hollow inside and for a brief second wanted to Rise up, Walk out, and Live In A Hole.  But, I have a family, This Love, to look out for so I won’t be making any decisions in haste…though I’d love to Piss on somebody.  I was in a room of Regular People with a Mouth for War and I thought it was about to get downright Fucking Hostile as we were told that many of us may get walking papers later this year…those like me with clean records and a solid career of steadfast duty.

As I sit here I can’t help, but think that the corporate machine I work for is By Demons Be Driven and up to No Good.  Cut aircraft, cut programs, but people?  We are the most precious resource right?  It’s nothing more than a Vulgar Display of Power if you ask me.  Well, what is done is done and for now I have to sit on my hands and wait to see if I will be forced to transition to a new life probably in a new place…something I hope works out for the best.   Oh, I forgot about the song of the week.  I guess I rambled. Thank you for letting me vent.  Here is a song I have been listening to a lot lately.  Enjoy and have a great one.

About Reggie

Just a dude writing a heavy metal blog and always on the prowl for a cool metal show. I am also a family man...first and foremost!

Posted on January 9, 2014, in Song of the Week and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Beautifully written. Stay strong, brother!

  2. ChristopherMammal

    Very cleverly expressed sentiments even if the message is less enjoyable, and the song is fantastic. Whether you stay in the Air Force or start your own thrash band, you’ve demonstrated yet again how effectively metal speaks of frustration and resentment. I’m holding thumbs for you.

  3. Metal is a great tool for venting, that’s for sure. Even through song titles, hehe. Cool post!

    Our society and most of its systems are messed up and people suffer because of it, in one way or another. I hope it won’t get too bad for you, your family, and all the other families that this will affect. ❤

  4. All the best wishes for you whatever the outcome will be! Pantera is such a powerrful music and imo has a positive attitude also the songs mostly are dealing with negative issues. I hope it gives you strength beyond strength:-)

  5. Thank you for your support and appreciating my use of metal to vent. I am sure all will work out for the best. If not, I am preparing for the next step.

Leave a Reply

