Album Review: Cult Of Fire – मृत्यु_का_तापसी_अनुध्यान (Ascetic Meditation of Death)

a1998107562_10Label: Iron Bonehead Productions

Release Date:  November 5, 2013

Songs:  8

Length: 48 minutes

Genre:  Epic Black Metal

Studio Albums:  Triumvirát, 2012

Location:  Prague, Czech Republic

.

WarpRider – The thing that appealed to me most were the softer ambient sounds probably influenced by their roots.  I am not into excessive blast beats, but in between that level of extreme tempos there was some harmony in a few songs I can appreciate and was able to see the album through.  2.5

Atleastimhousebroken – Well, this album was a very pleasant surprise!  Most easily summed up as Moonsorrow with Middle-Eastern folk influence instead of Scandinavian ones.  The unrelenting  tremolo of the black metal style, incredibly gorgeous soundscapes, and the occasional chanting do wonders at creating immensely hypnotic music.  Spiritual even. The way the songs unfold feels natural with the beginning building up to the dense and layered finale.  This is an album that will spend a lot of time in my ears.  Highly suggested to black metal and folk metal fans (especially if you are of want of some folk metal from regions other than Scandinavia).  Bonus points for the cover artwork (which is now my computer’s desktop image). 4.5

Irmelinis – I have to admit I’ve avoided listening to this album because the cover didn’t appeal to me. That was stupid. During the album you’ll find excellent melodic black metal laced with beautiful piano melodies, intriguing sitars, organs and other unusual elements. The result is stunning, each listen reveals something new and the atmosphere it creates is truly epic.  4.5

ChristopherMammal – I love Oriental metal. This isn’t Oriental metal, it’s atmospheric black with pronounced Oriental influences. Since I also love black metal, this album reaches me warmly from both sides (which are both overweight because of all the music I consume). The band’s approach is novel and compelling, with its incorporation of Hindu chanting and ceremony and its sense of ritual and the arcane. The pure black passages are darned good black metal. 4.0

A Metal State of Mind Score – 3.8 out of 5

.

Full Album Stream:

Links:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Cult-Of-Fire/101579073262511

http://ironboneheadproductions.bandcamp.com/album/cult-of-fire

.
About Irmelinis

A friend told me that I was delusional. I almost fell off my unicorn.

Posted on January 9, 2014, in Album Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

