Album Review: Dead Ends – Petrichor EP

Dead Ends artworkLabel: This Is Core

Release Date:  December 12, 2013

Songs:  4

Length: 14 minutes

Genre:  Melodic metalcore/Post-Hardcore

Albums: This is their debut EP

Location:  Brescia, Italy

WarpRider – This short EP instantly grabbed my attention with its aggressive melody.   Though I do not generally gravitate towards the metalcore style, Dead Ends seem to have the right mix of melody, growls, and breakdowns…nothing overused – a cool collection of songs that has piqued my interest for a full album release.  3.5

Atleastimhousebroken – A pretty solid EP.  I liked the heavy Strapping Young Lad influences mixed with bouts of melo-death and –core.  The clean singing and vocal melodies are enjoyable even if they aren’t incredibly original.  I’ll not dock Dead Ends points for this since I imagine budget restraints were the cause of the problem, but often times the mix sounded muddy (not overly jarring mind you, just a pet peeve of mine).  I’d be interested in hearing what these guys can do with a full length and a few extra pennies for mixing.  3.5

Dead Ends photo 1Irmelinis –High quality metalcore with a delicious melodic atmosphere. The tasteful variation in the vocals as well as in the music makes these songs very enjoyable and never boring to listen to. There is a good balance of catchiness and aggression; great use of guitars and effects. I’m impressed and would definitely buy a full length from these guys. Lovely artwork too.  4.0

ChristopherMammal – I’m not sure if the band intended it that way, but Dead Ends make very melodic metalcore. The four short songs on this short EP showcase four different approaches and four classy compositions. The band shows admirable restraint in the breakdowns. It doesn’t use them for brittle punctuation. Rather, the breakdowns provide some of the best music on the EP. I love the range of hard and clean vocals. I also love the way the high-register guitar floats above the main melody lines. 4.0

A Metal State of Mind Score – 3.75 out of 5

Links: 
https://www.facebook.com/deadendsofficial

https://www.facebook.com/thisiscorelabel

http://www.smarturl.it/itunesdeadends

About Irmelinis

A friend told me that I was delusional. I almost fell off my unicorn.

Posted on January 8, 2014, in News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. In hospital, no fb for days. Can you give Mammal note, so he can give Word in THOM?

Leave a Reply

