Album Review: Killers Lodge – Unnecessary I

unnecessary_I_cover_hiresLabel:  N/A

Release Date:  15 Dec 2013

Songs:  10

Length:  34 Minutes

Genre:  Sludge

Studio Albums:  This is the debut

Location:  Italy

WarpRider – They get an “A” for the name of their band; I love it.  The music itself reminded me of a High on Fire/Motorhead vibe a little bit.  Their upbeat sludgy style keeps my foot tapping, however, the songs sort of blended together over the course of the album without any real departure from their standard recipe.  They are definitely consistent and a decent start for the Cadaveria bassist’s new band.  Land of Doom was a standout song for me/the one I thought was most different from the rest.  3.0

Atleastimhousebroken – Discount Motorhead mixed with discount Overkill.  I’d rather listen to a Motorhead or Overkill record. 1.5

Irmelinis – Undoubtedly heavily influenced by hard rocking bands like Motörhead, Saxon and AC/DC, Killer’s Lodge created an album filled with upbeat rock n’ rolling music and catchy choruses. If that’s what you like, you should give this album a chance. But as I hear it: one repetitive and predictable song after another. Maybe this requires a certain level of intoxication to be enjoyable; it’s not my cup of tea at all. 1.0

ChristopherMammal – This isn’t just heavy metal in the classic style. It’s… um… sing-along metal. Mind you, that’s what I thought about ManoWar. And look how well they did. It’s also the kind of heavy metal for a party where people want to *gulp* dance. These guys doing a split gig with Alestorm would have the house rawkin’. My non-dancing knees and I would miss out on all the fun. There are a couple of solid songs on the album, but it doesn’t rise to great heights. 2.8

A Metal State of Mind Score – 2.1 out of 5

About Reggie

Just a dude writing a heavy metal blog and always on the prowl for a cool metal show. I am also a family man...first and foremost!

Posted on December 27, 2013, in Album Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

