ChristopherMammal’s Top Albums Of 2013: #20 – #11

Metal 2013

 

From the agonising it required just to select an initial Top 60, I’d say 2013 was a damn good year for metal. We saw great bands from the past continuing to turn out fantastic albums. A surge of new bands across all genres arrived and pumped new interpretations and sheer skill into the metalsphere. Current and recent favourites lived up to their reputations and delivered outstanding work.

It won’t surprise my Metal State Of Mind colleagues that nearly half of my final Top 20 are progressive metal. At the same time it pleases me that my list includes eight different main genres. This is further proof that bands across the metal spectrum have been deliciously productive this year. Gauging by the various schedules of new albums on the way, 2014 is going to be another good vintage.

I’m not going to write anything about the individual albums on my list. As far as I’m concerned, the quality of all of them speaks much more eloquently than I can (and I’m a lazy Mammal). All I ask is that you accept I had special reasons for loving all of these albums, not just for the music but for sundry other reasons as well. They all struck special chords in the part of my head where other people have brains.

During the year I made a great number of new metal friends. I owe them enormously for introducing me to wonderful new bands and styles. To you folks who are reading this, criticise my Top 20 selection to your heart’s content – I know I’m the half-hippie maverick here, I read all your comments, and I learn from you. So my gratitude goes to all of you. Have a rawkin’ 2014. Be thankful I’m not also posting my prog rock and jazz albums of the year. \m/

20. Pelican – Forever Becoming
Progressive metal, USA
Sample song: The Tundra

19. Black Sabbath – 13
Heavy/doom metal, UK
Sample song: God Is Dead?

18. Amorphis – Circle
Progressive death metal, Finland
Sample song: Hopeless Days

17. Deep Purple – Now What?!
Hard rock, UK
Sample song: A Simple Song

16. Alter Bridge – Fortress
Alternative metal, USA
Sample song: Cry Of Achilles

15. Jupiter Society – From Endangered To Extinct
Progressive metal, Sweden
Sample song: Invasion

14. Kataklysm – Waiting For The End To Come
Death metal, Canada
Sample song: Elevate

13. TesseracT – Altered State
Progressive djent metal, UK
Sample song: Of Energy

12. Falkenbach – Asa
Viking black metal, Germany
Sample song: Vaer Stjernar Vaerdan

11. Ayreon – The Theory Of Everything
Progressive metal, Netherlands
Sample song: The Theory Of Everything

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on December 26, 2013, in Best of 2013, Metal Lists and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You’re welcome 😉 Thank YOU for being endlessly entertaining and a worthy lets-trade-music-companion!

    That Pelican song sounds so nice and relaxing. Hopefully they have more tunes like that.
    Kataklysm is nice too, I need to check out a full album from those guys.

    Look! I see a little TesseracT in there 😀 Always makes me happy to see them included in various top-lists.

    I used to listen to Falkenbach quite a lot, like ten years ago, when I was just getting into metal. It’s cool to see they’re still going, and with the same flowing, melodic “riding pace” in their songs. Lovely music and fantastic artwork.

    Looking forward to seeing the next part of your list.

  2. ChristopherMammal

    I’m glad you like a few of them. I’m looking forward to posting the top ten tomorrow.

  3. I think I missed the boat on some of these such as Amorphis and I still haven’t had a chance to check out TesseracT. I have seen Black Sabbath on others’ lists this year, but still haven’t taken the time to see the album through. The song you posted is pretty good. Believe it or not, Sabbath was always a hard band for me to get into.

    Sometimes its hard for me to listen to Alter Bridge because of who they used to be. I can’t that pompous ass’s image out of my mind when I hear AB or Creed. Though, the song you posted is much more of a departure from that self-righteous other band.

Leave a Reply

