Mik’s Top 100 Favourite Albums of All Time #20-16

Top100A while ago, at the same time as Matt and Reggie, I posted my Top 100 All Time Favourite (Metal) Albums over at the forum The History of Metal on FB. It took a good amount of time and effort to put it together, but it was so much fun! My taste in metal is always changing, so the list will not always look the same. In fact, it’s already a bit different than it was when I first put it together and posted it on the forum seven months ago.

I tried to limit myself to three albums per band to make the list a little more diverse and interesting. I don’t really consider the ‘test of time’-factor when selecting what albums that will go on my list, instead I measure it by how strongly the album has affected me emotionally and how much/often it has helped me through both good and bad phases in my life. That’s why you can find quite a few newer releases among my favourites too.

.

#20 Ihsahn – angL

I might be considered strange who prefer Ihsahn’s solo albums over his work in Emperor. But who cares, right? By now you all know I’m a sucker for a strong, unique singing voice and Ihsahn is one of a kind. His style of blackened progressive metal includes amazing riffs, dark melodies, relaxing bass lines, vicious screams and thoughtful, poetic lyrics. Like an all-in-one-package. Perfect.

.

#19 Fellsilent – The Hidden Words

Groovy groovy groove. I can’t help but dance a little bit when I hear this album, it’s such a fun listen, full of great riffs and melodies, complex rhythms and not just one, but two awesome singers. Fellsilent are considered important pioneers of djent/modern prog metal, if you care about knowing that kind of “historical” stuff. Unfortunately (kind of, but not really) this band is no more, and they only released this one album. But their guitarist Acle Kahney, left Fellsilent to start TesseracT, which I’m obviously very grateful for. Acle’s and John’s godly guitar skills is the main reason I love this album and I’m very happy that parts of Fellsilent’s sound continued in TesseracT.

.

#18 Pain of Salvation – The Perfect Element Part 1

Pain of Salvation is one of the very few bands whose albums I have never grown tired of. They have always kept the level of awesomeness every time I listen, and I do come back to them quite often. For many years Remedy Lane was my favourite PoS album, lately it has changed, much to my surprise. The Perfect Element might be a challenging listen because of the very versatile songs and many creative arrangements, but at the same time I find it’s so tastefully done, and everything is so damn smooth. It’s a concept album about two people fighting against the wounds inflicted by their past as they grew up with something missing in their lives. It’s about the relationship between the individual and society, the different states of the human mind and the exploration of extreme emotions. As always with Pain of Salvation, they deliver some of the best lyrics and most interesting themes and it’s impossible to not get absorbed by their brilliantly composed music.

.

#17 Primordial – To The Nameless Dead

What I like the most about Primordial is how they feel so sincerely sincere. If you understand what I mean. Their songs are so filled with emotion; dark, depressing, struggling, bitter, nostalgic emotions, all with a sound that is very characteristic and unique. Every piece of their music is just right, it could not have been done in any other way. I can’t leave out how impressive the vocalist is, to me he’s the driving force in most of the songs and the sad, desperate tone of his voice always gives me serious chills.

.

#16 Textures – Silhouettes

Don’t worry, there are more than just different types of progressive metal left on my list. Or is there? Well, what would you expect from a “prog-chick? More prog metal albums, of course! Textures’ album “Silhouettes” is almost more groovy and thrashy than it is proggy. The heaviness in combination with the irresistible melodies and soulful sound makes for a very powerful and inspiring album. Textures is a band that can appeal to many; they have a little of everything and deliver every part with full force and meticulous precision. On top of that they managed to find a fantastic vocalist with both great emotion and gritty power in his voice (although this is not the same guy that sings on their latest album). I saw Textures live a couple of months ago and wow… it was one of the best and most positive live shows I’ve ever seen. The contrast of really heavy, serious music played by guys that were constantly smiling and joking around with each other was so much fun to see. Lovely people. Lovely music.

.
About Irmelinis

A friend told me that I was delusional. I almost fell off my unicorn.

Posted on December 9, 2013, in Metal Lists, Mik's Top 100 Albums, News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Another excellent list and a few things I never heard. I don’t think a day will come when i think I will have heard it all. Actually, I hope that day never comes. 😉

Leave a Reply

