Songs That Define My Taste In Music #4 & #3 (Mik)

my-taste-in-music-is-perfect-and-anyone

#4 The songwriting and lyrics

The biggest part of my musical heart belongs to progressive metal, mainly because I like the complex and diverse nature of the music, the excellent songwriting, carefully thought out lyrics and lengthy tracks. The best thing is when bands compose concept albums that are one long, consecutive song, like TesseracT’s ‘Concealing Fate’ and Uneven Structure’s ‘Februus’. Another example of good songwriting and lyrics:

Gojira – Pain Is A Master

#3 Emotional Vocals

A vocalist with a powerful and versatile voice is very often present in the music I like the most. I’ve realized it’s a very important component; instrumental music doesn’t interest me much at all. I love a sincere, emotional voice with a good range that can perform many different styles like Daniel Tompkins (Skyharbor), Ilkka Viitasalo (Benea Reach), ICS Vortex (Borknagar) Daniel de Jongh (Textures)

Skyharbor – Catharsis 

About Irmelinis

A friend told me that I was delusional. I almost fell off my unicorn.

Posted on December 6, 2013, in Metal Lists and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. ChristopherMammal

    You’re definitely a prog chick. As always, you picked excellent songs to match your written motivations.

Leave a Reply

