Songs That Define My Taste In Music #6 & #5 (Mik)

my-taste-in-music-is-perfect-and-anyone

This was indeed a difficult, but interesting challenge. Exactly what I like and look for in music, and mainly in metal, is something I’ve never thought about to a great extent before. And I wouldn’t say it’s important to know either, it’s just a way to get to know myself better (and a good excuse for making another list). It goes a bit deeper and is more specific than just saying “I like <insert genre here>”. These components I’m describing apply to any style of music I listen to.

.

#6 Dark, melancholic and flowing atmosphere

Maybe I’m a person that is too serious and sorrowful on the inside?  I’m always drawn to music with a dark and melancholic undertone and sincere, solemn vocals. Even if some music I like might sound light and uplifting, the lyrics usually have a very serious or sad meaning (the song Reaching Home by Textures being the perfect example). I prefer this dark atmosphere served with the wonderful flow that can often be found in post rock/metal and atmospheric black metal. This is why I love bands like Alcest, ISIS, Ghost Brigade, Swallow the Sun and Ne Obliviscaris.

.

#5 Sound and production.

I’ve discussed my weird preferences of this element countless of times… I listen to music is to escape the real world, drift away and experience something completely different. Something out of this world, perfect, dreamy and unreal (others call it emotionless and sterile). I love a spacey, almost electronic atmosphere with a strong low end, where every detail and instrument can be heard. I can’t explain my taste without something by TesseracT, and a song from their instrumental album can illustrate what I’m talking about.

.
About Irmelinis

A friend told me that I was delusional. I almost fell off my unicorn.

Posted on November 25, 2013, in Metal Lists and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

