Mik’s Top 100 Favourite Albums of All Time #25-21

Top100A while ago, at the same time as Matt and Reggie, I posted my Top 100 All Time Favourite (Metal) Albums over at the forum The History of Metal on FB. It took a good amount of time and effort to put it together, but it was so much fun! My taste in metal is always changing, so the list will not always look the same. In fact, it’s already a bit different than it was when I first put it together and posted it on the forum seven months ago.

I tried to limit myself to three albums per band to make the list a little more diverse and interesting. I don’t really consider the ‘test of time’-factor when selecting what albums that will go on my list, instead I measure it by how strongly the album has affected me emotionally and how much/often it has helped me through both good and bad phases in my life. That’s why you can find quite a few newer releases among my favourites too.

.

#25  Orkenkjott – Onskediktet

‘Onskediktet’ is a really odd, proggy debut album from Norway, with influences from 70’s prog but with a heavier sound. It feels very middle-eastern at times, and it’s not only because the band is called “desert meat” and claim they play “desert rock”. They have an extraordinary vocalist whose voice takes some time to get used to, but I like their unique style, with many weird and amazing moments.

.

#24 Dimmu Borgir – Enthrone Darkness Triumphant

This was one of my first encounters with black metal. It’s a majestic and diverse album with some of Dimmu Borgir’s most well composed songs. This is also one of the most highly regarded symphonic black metal albums by fans, and rightfully so. I really appreciated the change in sound from Dimmu’s previous album Stormblåst, to this one; Enthrone Darkness Triumphant is heavier, has a much more polished production and a more detailed sound. Suits me perfectly. I love Shagrath’s freaky singing style, the fun and beautiful keyboard melodies and the overall epic feeling.

 

.

#23 Shattered Skies – Reanimation EP

This is one of the best EP’s I own; it’s so good I have to include it in this list of albums. And it never fails to put a big smile on my face. I’m waiting impatiently for this band’s debut album; I really, really want more of their perfect, catchy melodies and lovely guitars. Not to mention the singer; I would love for him to stand in my bedroom and sing me to sleep every night!

.

#22 Anaal Nathrakh – In the Constellation Of The Black Widow

For me it was love at first listen with Anaal Nathrakh. No other band does such a good job of completely erasing negative thoughts and emotions for me. Everything feels so much better after a couple of Nathrakh songs, it’s almost like drinking a bottle of good, strong wine. Though I would choose “In The Constellation Of The Black Widow” over wine any day; it’s way more intoxicating.

.

#21 Opeth – Ghost Reveries

I suspect not much needs to be said about this album. You all already know how amazing it is, right? How it so delicately includes pieces of all the previous Opeth-records, how the wonderfully long, unique, diverse songs possess the ability to draw you in completely. What I like the most about ‘Ghost Reveries’ is that it’s very poetic and quite challenging to listen to, because of the variety and amount of musical influences in the songs. It’s also the last album with one of my favourite drummers, Martin Lopez, and his work on this record certainly deserves a special mention.

.
About Irmelinis

A friend told me that I was delusional. I almost fell off my unicorn.

Posted on November 18, 2013, in Metal Lists, Mik's Top 100 Albums and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Glad to see Opeth on the list, I really like Ghost Reveries. Everything else is kind of new to me. I only have a couple Dimmu albums as that’s a hard genre for me to enjoy, though I do like what i have from them. Shattered Skies is pretty cool. I dig that song!

    I hear so much about Anaal Nathrakh, but never took the time to absorb their intense beats per minute. Though, on the song you post I can’t find anything I dislike. It’s really aggressive…probably good for driving on the highway when there is no traffic. 🙂

  2. ChristopherMammal

    Another great selection!

Leave a Reply

