Mik’s Top 100 Favourite Albums of All Time #30-26

Top100A while ago, at the same time as Matt and Reggie, I posted my Top 100 All Time Favourite (Metal) Albums over at the forum The History of Metal on FB. It took a good amount of time and effort to put it together, but it was so much fun! My taste in metal is always changing, so the list will not always look the same. In fact, it’s already a bit different than it was when I first put it together and posted it on the forum seven months ago.

I tried to limit myself to three albums per band to make the list a little more diverse and interesting. I don’t really consider the ‘test of time’-factor when selecting what albums that will go on my list, instead I measure it by how strongly the album has affected me emotionally and how much/often it has helped me through both good and bad phases in my life. That’s why you can find quite a few newer releases among my favourites too.

.

#30 In Mourning – The Weight of Oceans

This is the third In Mourning album in my list and their latest one, released last year. They keep getting better and better and ‘The Weight of Oceans’ is a very fine collection of songs. It includes my favourite In Mourning song, ‘Colossus’, possibly also one of the best songs written in the history of music, according to myself. The build up and groove in that one is amazing. ‘A Vow to Conquer The Ocean’ is another fantastic tune with great guitar work and the track titled ‘Celestial Tear’ is one of the most beautiful and emotional metal ballads I’ve ever heard. From the first listen, I found this to be a truly captivating album.

.

#29 Pain of Salvation – Remedy Lane

I was quite new to metal when I bought this album. I had never heard of the band before, but on the cover was a sticker saying “On tour with Dream Theater”. Since DT was my favourite band back when I was a metal newbie, I figured Pain of Salvation must be good if they’re touring with the best band in the world! Turns out I was right. ‘Remedy Lane’ quickly became my favourite CD and Pain of Salvation has given me so many beautiful moments during the years. They will always have a special place in my heart.

.

#28 Fleshgod Apocalypse – Oracles

We all need a good mind-crusher every now and then. That’s what Fleshgod Apocalypse is for me, but most of the time I can’t really stand pure death metal so their symphonic version of death is more to my liking. It sounds real, inspired and massive. So many cool riffs and drumming and lovely clean production.

.

#27 Negura Bunget – Virstele Pamintului

One of the best atmospheric black metal bands in existence. I love how unique their sound is, how they include ethnic instruments and make them a central part of their songs without it sounding out of place. The best thing is the contrast in their songs, always heavy vs calm, dark vs light. It’s quite a challenge to listen to the whole album, but it’s so worth it. This song below, is one of my all time favourite songs, all genres.

.

#26 Fleshgod Apocalypse – Agony

For me this is Fleshgod’s most accessible album. And still the best one (no, I don’t really like their latest album). The mix of classical music and death metal works so well here, and I like that they have clean, almost operatic vocals in some parts of the songs, it provides some much needed variety. Great choruses and speed in a controlled chaos and the songs have a very nice balance of heaviness and melody.

.
About Irmelinis

A friend told me that I was delusional. I almost fell off my unicorn.

Posted on November 11, 2013, in Metal Lists, Mik's Top 100 Albums and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. ChristopherMammal

    Excellent selection, SuperSwede. It’s good to see you’re also a fan of Negura Bunget. The other bands in your latest selection are all like you, super.

  2. I started getting into Pain of Salvation after Matt played some videos here on the site a few years ago. I got to see them with Opeth and that furthered my interest in the band. The only two albums i have now are Remedy Lane and Road Salt.

    Fleshgod is pretty bad ass and I have yet to get their latest album. My backlog list is getting bigger by the day it seems.

    Excellent selection.

Leave a Reply

