Mik’s Top 100 Favourite Albums of All Time #40-36

Top100

A while ago, at the same time as Matt and Reggie, I posted my Top 100 All Time Favourite (Metal) Albums over at the forum The History of Metal on FB. It took a good amount of time and effort to put it together, but it was so much fun! My taste in metal is always changing, so the list will not always look the same. In fact, it’s already a bit different than it was when I first put it together and posted it on the forum seven months ago.

I tried to limit myself to three albums per band to make the list a little more diverse and interesting. I don’t really consider the ‘test of time’-factor when selecting what albums that will go on my list, instead I measure it by how strongly the album has affected me emotionally and how much/often it has helped me through both good and bad phases in my life. That’s why you can find quite a few newer releases among my favourites too.

.

#40 Negura Bunget – OM

I like Negura Bunget mainly for their flowing, hypnotic sound. I love the dramatic build-up in their songs and with the unconventional song structures and beautiful ambience. ‘OM’ is a very dark and spiritual piece of folkish black metal. The addition of folk instruments and lyrics sung in the band’s native language adds a wonderful and mysterious feeling to their music.

.

#39 Finntroll – Midnattens Widunder

Because trolls are cool. Not as cool as goblins, but they still rock. When released this was a very unique album in metal, I like that it’s different, it’s easy listening and quite entertaining, at the same time it’s dark and enchanting music. The guitars coordinate with the keyboards in a funny way, the accordion makes it so much more interesting and there are just enough “humppa” to not overshadow the black metal elements on the album.

.

#38 Soilwork – The Living Infinite

This is an album released in March this year. But I have to include it in my list, because it’s one of the most impressive and consistent (double) albums I’ve ever heard. ‘The Living Infinite’ made me really happy, because after a couple of mediocre releases, Soilwork is back with this wonderfully refreshing record that has everything I want from this band and more. The energy and power from their earliest albums is back, the insanely catchy choruses, the infectious guitar melodies and Björn Strid’s fantastic vocals. Soilwork released this year’s happy pill and I know it will last for a long time.

.

#37 In Mourning – Monolith

Progressive melo-death at its best. This album has the same warm, sad feeling as some of Opeth’s music. It has just the right amount of catchiness and beautiful melodies to make it easy to listen to, but also enough complexity to keep it engaging. I Like In Mourning’s music because it’s very sincere and emotional and the songs are consistently good.

.

#36 Opeth – My Arms, Your Hearse

My Arms , Your Hearse is a classic Opeth album and a masterpiece. The way they manage to keep the sound so dark and heavy and yet so beautifully melodic really appeals to me. The guitars and the riffs in these songs are amazing. The aggressive drums are excellent. The songs go through all kinds of unexpected twists and turns and it never gets boring. This album includes some of my all time favourite Opeth songs, like April Ethereal and Demon of the Fall.

.
About Irmelinis

A friend told me that I was delusional. I almost fell off my unicorn.

Posted on September 20, 2013, in Metal Lists, Mik's Top 100 Albums and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

