Songs That Define My Taste In Music #6 & #5 (Reggie)

music-taste--large-msg-132724488296Talking to other metal admirers has certainly opened my ears to a world of music I barely knew existed.  I have to say, my library has expanded quite a bit over the years though meeting friends in blogs and social forums.  A recent conversation on a facebook forum called “I, Author of Despair” led me to do some soul searching on songs that define my taste in music, more specifically heavy metal.  When asked, I usually tell people I just like the aggressive nature of the music, but after thinking about it for a bit I realized there are so many other reasons that define my particular taste…reasons that opened the door to my favorite genres and opened further doors to new ones.   Those 10 reasons in no particular order are Speed, Cadence, and Flow; Rhythm and Groove; Guitars; Presentation and Appearance; Disposition; Artistic Impression; Technicality; Poignant Intelligible Lyrics; Storytelling; and Aggression.  Although some of the bands used to articulate the things that define my taste can cross over into multiple areas, I use them as good examples of why it defines my taste in music.

#6 – Inspires Deep Thought

Disposition is also known as character or temperament.  In other words, music that fits a certain mood has a huge impact on me.  For this particular category I am focusing mainly on songs that emanate a moody, melancholy, doom and gloom disposition.  This style of music impacts my mood more than most other genres.  With a band like Katatonia their songs have a calming almost hypnotic effect on me and stimulate deep thought though some progressive bands have the same effect.  Also, Katatonia is not a hop-on-imaginary pogo sticks kind of band.  That wouldn’t fit their style.  Therefore, they can get away with little movement on stage.  I once saw Life of Agony (with Keith Caputo).  Their music is angry and their presence on stage matched.  Then, I saw Life of Agony when Whitfield Crane was on vocals.  He’s the guy from Ugly Kid Joe.  He had a more “happy” approach on stage and it totally didn’t fit at all.  You don’t sing about a shitty life and try to get people to clap in unison.  Anyway, a lot of music I genuinely love doesn’t inspire anything but chair throwing.  But, bands like Katatonia let my mind wander about various things.

Other bands that fit:  Paradise Lost, Dream Theater, Iron Maiden, Rush, Insomnium

#5 – Artistic Impression

I love to listen to talented musicians; the kind that treat music like art.  I think that’s the intent of any musician, but then again there is good art, strange art, and not-so-good art.  Bands that fit this bill the most and have my utmost respect are progressive metal types though that’s not a hard-fast rule.  I do appreciate music that doesn’t explore much more than a few riffs like Six feet Under and many other death metal bands, but when I hear a band like Dream Theater…well, I am just impressed by their musicianship on CD and watching them play on stage.

Other bands that fit:  Rush, Opeth, Iron Maiden, Death, Into Eternity, The Ocean, Joe Satriani

About Reggie

Just a dude writing a heavy metal blog and always on the prowl for a cool metal show. I am also a family man...first and foremost!

Posted on September 18, 2013, in Metal Lists and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

