Mik’s Top 100 Favourite Albums of All Time #45-41

Top100

A while ago, at the same time as Matt and Reggie, I posted my Top 100 All Time Favourite (Metal) Albums over at the forum The History of Metal on FB. It took a good amount of time and effort to put it together, but it was so much fun! My taste in metal is always changing, so the list will not always look the same. In fact, it’s already a bit different than it was when I first put it together and posted it on the forum seven months ago.

I tried to limit myself to three albums per band to make the list a little more diverse and interesting. I don’t really consider the ‘test of time’-factor when selecting what albums that will go on my list, instead I measure it by how strongly the album has affected me emotionally and how much/often it has helped me through both good and bad phases in my life. That’s why you can find quite a few newer releases among my favourites too.

.

# 45 Ne Obliviscaris – Portal Of I


Ne Obliviscaris is a band I feel deserve a lot more attention. They are an extreme/progressive metal band from Australia and their debut ‘Portal of I’ ended up on many best of the year-lists in 2012, and rightfully so. The technically complex blend of progressive and melodic black metal with jazz and classical influences is stunningly beautiful. The violins play a big part in their songs and it creates a chilling, haunting sound that is impossible to not get addicted to.

.

#44 Moonsorrow – Kivenkantaja

Moonsorrow makes blackened folk metal of the most beautiful kind. They are quite new to me and while I work my way through their discography there have been a couple of albums that truly amazed me. Kivenkantaja is one of them. Ther rich atmospheres they create in their music are convincing, deep, emotional and very dark. I can feel what they are singing about, even if I don’t understand the words. They have a wonderful flow in their songs and never before have keyboard melodies felt so right and so enchanting. I’m kicking myself for not having listened to this band before, but it means I still have lots of Moonsorrow-ilicous music to discover.

#43 Swallow The Sun – The Morning Never Came

Gloomy, doomy, heavy, emotional. It’s difficult to find something more depressing and sorrowful than Swallow The Sun’s music. That’s what makes it so good. I like the fragile atmosphere and the haunting melodies, and how the songs just creepily float along and go on and on, and takes me deeper and deeper into the darkness. There is enough diversity to keep the music interesting, but never so much that it takes away the wonderfully hypnotic and repetitive element in these sadness-filled songs. I agree with their band name; Swallow the Sun is best enjoyed when it’s too bright and sunny outside and I desperately need lots of bleak, chilly darkness to soothe my soul.

.

#42 Alice in Chains – Dirt

Because it’s just so emotionally intense, disturbing and powerful. These songs have been loved and adored by me ever since I first heard them on MTV when I was a teenager. I was never really into grunge, but Alice In Chains were always different; they had this cold, morbid atmosphere in their music that appealed to me, as well as an outstanding vocalist. Their album ‘Dirt’ is one of the best releases of the 90’s.

.

#41 Dimmu Borgir – Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia

This album introduced me to Dimmu Borgir’s world of symphonic black metal. When many other black metal fans were hating on this album for having a production that is too good, that was exactly the reason I loved it so much. It has a huge, almost echoing atmosphere which makes it sound like the music is played in a massive, majestic empty hall instead of out in a crappy, old forest. Another reason this is one of my favourite albums is ICS Vortex’s contribution. His powerful, clean, standout voice is a nice contrast to Shagrath’s black metal vocals and is definitely a highlight together with the fantastic drum work on this album.

.
About Irmelinis

A friend told me that I was delusional. I almost fell off my unicorn.

Posted on August 30, 2013, in Metal Lists, Mik's Top 100 Albums and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. A good selection of songs. Alice in Chains seems a little out of place, but seriously Dirt is a great album and I’m glad to see it make your list. I heard Dimmu before and dig some of their music though I only know the more recent stuff. I liked Ne Obliviscaris and Swallow the Sun was good too. I am learning of many new bands from your best album list!

  2. Great songs, also i still not really warm up to Dimmu Borgir. Dirt is sure one of my Top 30 records and Portal of I is also very good. I’m glad for them that they managed to stick out a bit more in this flood of releases.

Leave a Reply

