Mik’s Top 100 Favourite Albums of All Time #50-46

Top100

A while ago, at the same time as Matt and Reggie, I posted my Top 100 All Time Favourite (Metal) Albums over at the forum The History of Metal on FB. It took a good amount of time and effort to put it together, but it was so much fun! My taste in metal is always changing, so the list will not always look the same. In fact, it’s already a bit different than it was when I first put it together and posted it on the forum seven months ago.

I tried to limit myself to three albums per band to make the list a little more diverse and interesting. I don’t really consider the ‘test of time’-factor when selecting what albums that will go on my list, instead I measure it by how strongly the album has affected me emotionally and how much/often it has helped me through both good and bad phases in my life. That’s why you can find quite a few newer releases among my favourites too.

.

#50 Tempus Fusion – To End It All

This is a prog metal album that really surprised me with its fresh and captivating sound. It has a dark, emotional atmosphere, heavy riffs and rolling drums, powerful vocals and interesting, unpredictable melodies. No filler songs and good songwriting. All that is needed to end up on my toplist of favourite albums.

.

#49 The Human Abstract – Digital Veil

This is an album I randomly ran into when reading ’best of the year’-lists a couple of years ago, that became a big favourite of mine. With their accessible, melodic sound, great choruses and impressive guitar and drumming techniques it’s difficult to not like it. It could be a bit longer and have more than eight songs, but the quality of all the tracks is really good, so I forgive them.

.

#48 Mechina – Empyrean

Every time I listen to this album I’m quickly transported to another place in the universe; the music makes me feel like I’m part of an epic space adventure. In symphonic death metal form. Every song has an impressive speed and flow, spiced up with electronic sounds, industrial elements and wonderful orchestral arrangements. The atmosphere is massive and it’s easy to get completely absorbed in the beautiful compositions and enchanting images Mechina’s music paints in my head. The icing on the cake is the powerful singing that comes in all kinds of intergalactic forms and shapes.

.

#47 Carach Angren – Where The Corpses Sink Forever

Carach Angren’s style of black metal is a little different than most. It’s characterized by symphonic elements of classical music and with a well written story behind every album; each of their songs tend to be a very theatrical listening experience. Where the Corpses Sink Forever is a collection of songs about people who lived during the two World Wars and every song is a separate story about death from various viewpoints.

.

#46 Dream Theater – Metropolis pt 2: Scenes From a Memory

This was the first Dream Theater album I heard. I quickly got addicted to their emotional sound and Petrucci’s brilliant guitar playing. After getting the live-DVD I ended up watching that every time instead of putting the CD on, so maybe the DVD should be in this spot on my list instead. It’s a concept album with a great story and fantastic music to go with it and should be listened to as one piece from the beginning to the end. The whole album is one long, beautiful moment.

.
About Irmelinis

A friend told me that I was delusional. I almost fell off my unicorn.

Posted on August 23, 2013, in Metal Lists, Mik's Top 100 Albums and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Ah Dream Theater…you know what’s up! I haven’t heard the others…only heard of them, but I dig the Tempus Fusion. I like the riffs and it sounds intense. Black Metal is tough for me to absorb sometimes, but I did like Carach Angren’s approach. I think their symphonic touch makes it more accessible for me. The other two were pretty cool listening as well, but I think I need to hear more of it for I decide how I feel about it. Good selection; well-rounded selection!

  2. The last time I read about Dream Theater on Metal State I decided to rehear the records and give them another chance to show me the greatness all rhapsodize about. After some intense hearing I really like most of the music (more than before). One impressing and original part after another which makes it fun to listen. On the other hand it has still this “constructed” feeling, which makes it hard to me to get emotional involved with their music above appreciating their ideas and skills. Also I find James LaBrie’s voice to be – besides the calm parts – really annoying.

    #50 to #48 all have something that appeals to me but also some things I don’t like due to my personal taste (you may know, where I’m heading;-)). Carach Angren instead is something I will check out. As always many bands I didn’t knew and therefore interesting to read.

    PS: Do you know the band Klone? I think you may like it.

    • I know what you mean about Dream Theater, and even James’ voice, though it’s never bothered me much. For the last two years I haven’t been interested in DT’s music at all actually, even though I used to love them to bits. Things change. Music taste changes.

      I’ve heard many good things about Klone, but never really listened. From this video though, yes.. I think I might like it. Sounds good enough for me to check out more of their songs. Thank you! 😀

Leave a Reply

