Mik’s Top 100 Favourite Albums of All Time #55-51

Top100

A while ago, at the same time as Matt and Reggie, I posted my Top 100 All Time Favourite (Metal) Albums over at the forum The History of Metal on FB. It took a good amount of time and effort to put it together, but it was so much fun! My taste in metal is always changing, so the list will not always look the same. In fact, it’s already a bit different than it was when I first put it together and posted it on the forum seven months ago.

I tried to limit myself to three albums per band to make the list a little more diverse and interesting. I don’t really consider the ‘test of time’-factor when selecting what albums that will go on my list, instead I measure it by how strongly the album has affected me emotionally and how much/often it has helped me through both good and bad phases in my life. That’s why you can find quite a few newer releases among my favourites too. 

.

#55 Soilwork – Natural Born Chaos

This is one of the catchiest and most infectious albums I’ve ever heard. Impressive drums, frenetic guitarwork, brilliant clean vocal choruses, the typical positive Soilwork-energy. This album has it all. I like how they manage to balance heaviness with insanely catchy melodies and never become cheesy or boring to listen to. Every song on ‘Natural Born Chaos’ is fantastic and very “headbang-and-sing-along”-friendly. It’s Soilwork at their best.

.

#54 Sepultura Chaos A.D.

Face – the enemy
Stare – inside you
Control – your thoughts
Destroy – destroy ’em all”

I really like the change in sound from their previous release.’Chaos A.D.’ might be less brutal but it’s darker and groovier, resulting in more focused and powerful songs. This is where Igor Cavalera on drums really shines and the slight tribal feeling in the music combines well with the aggressive atmosphere and the wonderful grooves. This is a must listen for every metalhead.

.

#53 Moonspell – Wolfheart

This album has stuck with me for many, many years and it’s still sound just as good as it did ten years ago. It’s a classic metal album, a charming and unique collection of songs. It has symphonic as well as gothic elements and some operatic vocals, but it never gets too much, the balance is perfect. This is very dark, but melodic and different. Wild and beautiful, like the wolves on the album cover.

.

#52 Soen – Cognitive

This album sounds exactly like Tool many times; you could almost say it’s the Tool album we’ve all been waiting to hear for a long time now..

Martin Lopez’ (ex-Opeth) percussive skills are fantastic, I’ve always loved his work behind the drums. Another thing I really appreciate is bass-heavy songs, and Soen’s debut ‘Cognitive’ is full of them. Add a vocalist that sounds like a mix between Mikael Åkerfeldt and Maynard James Keenan, and it couldn’t possibly get any better.These songs are all beautifully constructed, powerfully executed and filled with a beautiful, sorrowful, dark atmosphere.

.

#51 Dream Theater – Images and Words

This is a band I don’t listen to much anymore, but this album did have a big impact on my life when I was younger. So that’s why it deserves its spot on my list. Dream Theater was one of the first metal bands I discovered and really liked and they showed me what progressive metal can sound like. I think this album has a unique feeling and sound compared to their other releases.

.
About Irmelinis

A friend told me that I was delusional. I almost fell off my unicorn.

Posted on August 16, 2013, in Metal Lists, Mik's Top 100 Albums and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. It’s always interesting to read about your favorite albums, especially for the fact that they’re mostly not the ‘typical’ classics you expect, when you read such a list. When I got interested in Rock & Metal I, as most others I guess, began with the well-known classics (Maiden, Pantera, At The Gates etc.) as mentioned in magazines etc along with the current music that came out. That led to a list predominantly consisting of ‘classics’ – mostly they are for a good reason – and some newer stuff & special interest.You seem to had a more individual approach. Either way it is conspicuous that your list mostly consists of records of the last 15 to 20 years.
    I like every band you choose here, but none of my favorites. Soen is a really good Tool-substitute;-)

    • Yeah, I do have some classics in my list, like DT’s Images and Words above, but not any of the really big, old “mainstream” classics like Black Sabbath or Iron Maiden. It’s never been my style, maybe because I found metal pretty late in life (in my early 20’s) or because I’ve never had any friends or family that liked metal and would play the old classics when I was at a young, very impressionable age. I’m also not much for nostalgia.

      I started out with power metal, the fantasy theme in metal has always caught my interest and went on to prog metal because of the fascination with long, emotional, complex songs and the amazingly clear sound they usually have.

      The higher up on my list we go, the more newer bands and releases you’ll find, the past few years music has had such a big impact on my life. I listen to it differently now then I did 10 years ago and it affects me a lot more emotionally. Or maybe it’s just the more modern styles of metal that suits my taste better.

      How is it for you? Has your music taste changed much during the years?

  2. I wasn’t very interested in music at all and just listened to radio or watched some MTV till I was twelve. Then, about 2002 a friend of mine got two records of classmate which were “A night at the opera” by Blind Guardian and Gamma Ray’s “No world order”. So BG’s “Battlefield” became the first Metal song I ever – consciously – listened to and I was overwhelmed of the power and the immense amount of things happening in just one song. I was an instant fan. I borrowed the record, made a copy and honestly listened to it every day at least three, sometimes ten times and that surely for about a year. It’s a experience that was unique.

    Then I got Iced Earth’s “Dark saga”, bought a Meat Loaf Best of, Highway to hell older BG records etc. First I only listened to classic Rock and Power Metal, I started reading magazines, than found a friend who was really into Metal (for the other two or three people in my age group it was more a contemporary interest) but into Melo Death and Metalcore. And since then my taste expanded more and more and still is.

    Some records stuck with me. BG is a good example. Nowadays I don’t like most Power Metal, which is from the nineties and later, simply because of the massive lack of any Power and a huge amount of feeble eunuch singing and keyboard (mis-)use. I still love BG as band, but wouldn’t say that “A night at the opera” is among their best records. Still I listened to it from time to time and still there are great songs, but I also recognize the flaws of the record. I’m pretty sure I would like the record less if I get to know it nowadays. And a band like Bullet For My Valentine or Caliban I maybe wouldn’t like at all. Other early encounters are sticking with me until now. For example “Dark saga” is still an Alltime favorite.

    Now I’m really open to all kinds of music and whenever I get to know some new music I like I instantly dig into it. That led to unreasonable money spending and a very mixed record collection.
    Just what I heard today on the way back of my current semester break job (assembly line work is the worst:-( ):

    • It’s cool to hear your story, every person’s music journey is so different. I listened through the songs you linked, and wow, that is a great variety of styles. It must be nice to have such a broad taste!

  3. That’s a good list for this set. I like all of those albums too and of course Images and Words. I saw Moonspell once, but never really followed up with their music. Soen is cool and I would have thought maybe another album would be on the horizon, but I haven’t heard anything about it. Soilwork, I am starting backward with. I do have Natural Born Chaos though and do enjoy it. Surprised to see old man thrash on your list, but there really is no denying that era of Sepultura is there?

    • Yeah, I really hope they continue with Soen, it would be very exciting to see where they’d go next, how their music would develop.

      Sepultura are special. They have an awesome drummer, I love songs where the drums are prominent, and they are groovier than most thrash bands. That tribal feeling they had on ‘Chaos AD’, I just can’t resist it 🙂

Leave a Reply

