Mik’s Top 100 Favourite Albums of All Time #60-56

Top100

A while ago, at the same time as Matt and Reggie, I posted my Top 100 All Time Favourite (Metal) Albums over at the forum The History of Metal on FB. It took a good amount of time and effort to put it together, but it was so much fun! My taste in metal is always changing, so the list will not always look the same. In fact, it’s already a bit different than it was when I first put it together and posted it on the forum seven months ago.

I tried to limit myself to three albums per band to make the list a little more diverse and interesting. I don’t really consider the ‘test of time’-factor when selecting what albums that will go on my list, instead I measure it by how strongly the album has affected me emotionally and how much/often it has helped me through both good and bad phases in my life. That’s why you can find quite a few newer releases among my favourites too. 

.

#60 Lord Belial – Enter The Moonlight Gate

A black metal album does not have to have a shitty “deep in the forest”-production to sound evil. ‘Enter The Moonlight Gate’ is a good example. I found this song below through a promo compilation I received when buying a magazine many years ago and I think it was my very first encounter with black metal. Now, this is a catchy, melodic song with folk-y elements that is really difficult to not get hooked by, so I’m not surprised I got slightly addicted to it. But that was good because it made me buy the whole album. And it’s a fantastic record from the beginning to the end.

.

#59 In Mourning – Shrouded Divine

With a fresh sound and unique songwriting this prog/melo death album impressed me greatly. Just listen to the layered guitars, the emotional choruses and varying tempos, it’s so good. They do sound a bit like Opeth sometimes, but never enough to be considered a copy.

.

#58 Dream Theater – Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence

This album is all about the lyrics for me. It’s a 2 CD concept album, where the first disc is about different serious struggles in life, like alcoholism, death and self-isolation. The second one is my favourite and handles subjects like depression, personality disorder, autism, bipolar and post-traumatic stress. I can completely understand and to various degrees relate personally to these kinds of inner turbulence described in the lyrics. They are spot on and beautifully written, and so is the music.

.

#57 The Safety Fire – Grind The Ocean

‘Grind the Ocean’ is a musical labyrinth that took some patience to get into. It’s groovy, technical and, in a way, wonderfully hyperactive. The quality songwriting, the many memorable melodies and unique vocals are some of the reasons I like this debut album from The Safety Fire. Combined with funky rhythms, soothing passages and a band with a hilarious sense of humor; what’s there not to like?

.

#56 Darkane – Layers of Lies

I find Darkane’s blend of thrash, melodic death and technical prog elements really special. They know how to violently blast away between the fantastic choruses and they add so much passion to their music. The first time I heard their songs was at a festival in Sweden many years ago and I was blown away by their heavy, thrash-y and speedy energy in combination with unique, catchy melodies. I like bands that have a little bit of everything.

.
About Irmelinis

A friend told me that I was delusional. I almost fell off my unicorn.

Posted on August 9, 2013, in Metal Lists, Mik's Top 100 Albums and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

