Mik’s Top 100 Favourite Albums of All Time #61-65

Top100

A while ago, at the same time as Matt and Reggie, I posted my Top 100 All Time Favourite (Metal) Albums over at the forum The History of Metal on FB. It took a good amount of time and effort to put it together, but it was so much fun! My taste in metal is always changing, so the list will not always look the same. In fact, it’s already a bit different than it was when I first put it together and posted it on the forum seven months ago.

I tried to limit myself to three albums per band to make the list a little more diverse and interesting. I don’t really consider the ‘test of time’-factor when selecting what albums that will go on my list, instead I measure it by how strongly the album has affected me emotionally and how much/often it has helped me through both good and bad phases in my life. That’s why you can find quite a few newer releases among my favourites too. 

#65 Bathory – Hammerheart

”Northern wind, take my song up high
to the Hall of Glory in the sky
So its gates shall greet me open wide
when my time has come to die…”

R.I.P

.

#64 Porcupine Tree – Deadwing

This might be more prog rock than metal, but it’s so good I can’t leave it out of this list. It was Opeth’s huge inspiration from and collaboration with this band that made me check them out a couple of years back. Thank you, Opeth! This masterpiece was released in 2005 and is Porcupine Tree’s 8th studio album. It’s a dark and sad record with a surreal atmosphere that contains both heavy, layered songs and more soothing, fascinating tunes. ‘Arriving Somewhere But Not Here’ is quite possibly their best song ever, and ‘Lazarus’ is so beautiful it makes me all teary eyed.

.

#63 Ghost Brigade – Until Fear No Longer Defines Us

While not hugely original or experimental, Ghost Brigade’s style of dark, melodic and almost sludgy metal is just so smooth and flowing you can’t help but loving it. The really powerful, soulful vocals fits this heavy, doomy music perfectly and the whole album is full of thick riffs and sorrowful melodies. It’s an album that makes me warm on dark, cold nights.

.

#62 Dissection – Storm of the Light’s Bane

This is a classic melodic black metal album. I usually don’t care much for old classics, but here the ice cold riffs, chilling melodies and the impeccable songwriting makes for a very memorable collection of songs.

.

#61 Summoning – Stronghold

When I hear the word ‘epic’ in metal I always think of Summoning’s music. It’s majestic, huge and . They manage to sound quite crisp and clear but still give me a feeling of “music being recorded in a forest”. The gentle melodies seem to float on top of the vocals and the Tolkien-themed lyrics couldn’t be more fitting for this type of epic, atmospheric black metal. I love the rhythmic drums that are slowly pounding along and creates a hypnotic feeling that I can easily get lost in…

.
About Irmelinis

A friend told me that I was delusional. I almost fell off my unicorn.

Posted on August 2, 2013, in Metal Lists, Mik's Top 100 Albums and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I only just heard Bathory for the first time doing research for another review. Seems like they had quite an impact on metal. I like Porcupine Tree although I haven’t heard that particular song or album yet. I am surprised I like Ghost Brigade. For some reason I thought I heard them before and didn’t remember liking it much. I am glad I gave it a second listen. Good selection of songs for this set of five!

  2. Yeah, Bathory is like the father of black metal. But his style is quite thrashy too, atleast in the beginning before he started to go over to viking/folk.

    What’s there not to like about Ghost Brigade? 😉
    Good to hear that you listened through the songs!

Leave a Reply

