Mik’s Top 25 All Time Favorite Video Games #15-11

secretofmana-iphone#15  Secret of Mana

A nice mix between Final Fantasy and Zelda for Super Nintendo. Cozy colors, nice environments and some really odd features here and there. I like that you can switch freely between the cute little characters and there’s real time combat, which provides variation and freedom of choice. It’s not a hugely original game, or not the most difficult one, but it has this special charm and atmosphere that makes me go back to it over and over again.

.

gaming_lego_lord_of_the_rings_1#14  LEGO The Lord Of The Rings

It’s almost absurd how many times you can go through the same story, in so many different medias (video games, books, movies, board games, music) and still enjoy it just as much every time. I can’t get tired of The Lord of the Rings, in any form. So I was really excited when a Lego version was going to be released. It’s the same concept as all the other Lego games, but with music, dialogues and camera angles directly from the movies. Combined with lots of humor and silly moments; it’s extremely charming and fun to play!

.

heroes_of_might_and_magic_iii_wallpaper_3-normal#13    Heroes of Might and Magic III

One of the best strategy games ever, it beats all the newer games released in the series. I like how you can choose between so many different “races” (forest creatures, hell creatures, necromancers, elementalists and more) and how you get to build armies of dragons, skeletons, wizards, hell hounds, devils, unicorns…  You have access to every fantasy creature imaginable and they all have different abilities and spells; it’s like entering a fairytale. Add to that the entertaining treasure hunt your hero will embark on and you have the perfect adventure.

.

images#12   Ninja Gaiden

This game was a real challenge. I’m surprised I didn’t give up and throw it away, because when it comes to games, I usually don’t have a lot of patience. I give up way too easily, but Ninja Gaiden was so rewarding and so much fun. I love sneakiness, I love playing with bow and arrows, samurai swords and all the other cool ninja attributes. The atmosphere in this game is fantastic and feels very natural.

.

final_fantasy_vii_pc_cover#11   Final Fantasy VII

A beautiful game in every way, with a fantastic story and characters. I like the turn based battle system, the ability to summon creatures, the hidden areas and mini games. I easily got obsessed with developing my characters to the max, finding all the treasures, getting all the items you can possibly get… Or the game experience doesn’t feel complete. The soundtrack is awesome too!

.
About Irmelinis

A friend told me that I was delusional. I almost fell off my unicorn.

Posted on July 19, 2013, in Metal Lists, Mik's Top 25 Video Games and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Secret of Mana was one of the defining games of my life. It was the first JRPG I could stand (basically because the combat wasn’t my team standing in a line and dancing at the monsters). I actually picked it up on the iPhone last year, but it is almost unplayable. Great post, I’m looking forward to the rest of your list.

    • Yeah, it’s such a wonderful little game, that one. Nice to hear that you like it! Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

  2. Some great picks. I loved the Secret of Mana game as well as all of the other entries in the series. A truly unappreciated gem of a game.
    And that Nina Gaiden game is fucking awesome. It was pretty much the sole reason I ended up buying the first Xbox after playing it a bit at a friends house. It’s a shame the other games in the modern series kinda sucked. But that one is so much fun and I remember being blown away by the graphics and boobs in the game 😉
    And really, what hasn’t already been said about FF7, while it doesn’t make my top 25, I still have to say it is one of the most important games of all time. They just released a PC version on Steam and I’m tempted to play through it yet another time, maybe this time actually taking down the Emerald Weapon.

Leave a Reply

