Reggie’s Top 25 Favorite Videogames of All-Time #15-11

yo_videogames__by_ry_spirit-d57k3ayAfter doing several “best of” lists centered on music, it’s time to turn attention to my favorite videogames.  Coming up with a best 25 was hard to do since I have been twiddling my joystick for quite some time now…since Atari – get your minds out of the gutter!  I can bet with quite certainty that some of my favorite games are long forgotten and left off this list, but for the sake of picking 25 games I looked at the ensemble of consoles and PC games I played over the years.  I think I captured the breadth of my favorite games across a spectrum of genres.  To put them in order was another task all-together since each game provided a different experience at a different point in my life.  So, I would place less emphasis on where the game is on my list and pay more attention to the fact that it made my list at all.  Of all the games I played in my life narrowing my favorites down to 25 speaks volumes of the game’s impact on me.  Enough rambling, let’s get on with the list!

#15 Oddworld:  Abe’s Oddysee (Playstation)

5ffd9922749563f7021762dca0d70f20e7e1ef0eI hate to use the word cute, but this game was cute to put it simply.  It’s a side-scroll game where you (Abe) must escape Rupture Farms.  Abe was a slave at the farm before he realized that he (and his people) were about to be the main ingredient in a new snack.  That sucks. From the beginning sequence Abe is on a mission to save 99 of his friends from Rupture Farms.  As I mentioned before, the game is cute and provides enough comic mischief for some laughs.  As the game progresses, each scene gets harder to navigate…the puzzle solving aspect of this game is challenging especially if you want to save all your buddies.  Tricking the Scrabs and Scarabs was amusing most of the time and often challenging.  Those guys are like nasty security guards.  It looks like they rebooted this game…I might have to try it out for nostalgic reasons.

#14 – Grand Theft Auto III:  Liberty City (Playstation 2)

17645_300This was my first time playing an open world environment game.  I have to say I was instantly addicted to not only the mature theme of the game, but the ability to freely roam about and wreak havoc upon Liberty City.  At the time, I as so into this game I bought the playbook and found every package, completed every side mission, and got to 100% completion as any nerd should.  Then I did it again.  This game opened a new door in gaming…at least for me.  This game gets the nod for #14 here, but I also equally enjoyed GTA Vice City and San Andreas.  Technically, this is a three-way tie.  Now, there are so many games with this game design it’s getting a bit watered down, but it’s nice to have nonlinear options in a game.  And, of course, you can’t beat the metal soundtrack when driving.

#13 – Gran Turismo (Playstation)

gfs_42230_1_1I do like a good racing game, but I don’t live by them.  Gran Turismo was probably the first racing simulator I ever played and I do not play them anymore.  I tend to find them a bit boring.  For this game I did all the races, bought tons of cars, and tuned them all.  Some of the races in this game took over 2 hours to complete.  I did those too, but had to pause and let my eyes adjust.  However, this was the only GT game I got into.  After this release, I found it repetitive to have to repeat races to earn enough money to get a decent car to move on to more lucrative races only to have to repeat them to earn more money and get to even more lucrative races.  It got boring real fast, but this first installment wasn’t so tedious.  I even got to play with a car modeled after mine at the time…a Mitsubishi Eclipse.  I had fun with that car…in real life too.

#12 – The Legend of Zelda (Nintendo)

2012-07-06-08-03-20-legendofzeldaI really enjoyed this game and the best part is that my kids have downloaded it to their Nintendo 3DSs and like to play it too.  It has obviously withstood the test of time.  Very few times in my life I bought a playbook for a game and I think this was another one.  I never needed it because I was stuck, but I wanted to find everything and know everything about the game.  I remember timing myself to beat this game and I think I did it in like six hours – I had no life.  I never got into Zelda much after this. I did give a few versions a try when I owned a Gamecube later on.  The game was so simple, yet had a quite a bit of depth for an 8-bit game.

#11 – The Walking Dead (Xbox 360)

LD0001287628_1I really liked the style of this game and how it provided options.  You find yourself in circumstances where you have to decide who to save when they are being attacked.   Someone is going to die and someone will live and for the rest of the game you have to live with the consequences of your decision. The other characters in the game don’t forget the decisions you make.  It really plays with your mind as you easily find yourself immersed in the mission, meeting people, and trying to survive.  Lots of people in this game die so there is no point getting attached to them.  Replay value with The Walking Dead is high since you get to start over and make different decisions to see how it plays out.  The game is set up with five episodes like they were TV shows.  There are about 5 major decisions to make per episode that impact the overall outcome and you get to see how others decided compared to what you did.  There is a lot of dialog in the game and interaction with others.  The more you talk, the more you know about others and what’s going on.  Don’t quote me, but I heard the second installment of this series really sucked.  Too bad, I really wanted to give it a shot.  The story follows the comic more closely than the TV show.  This is one of the few games where I found myself having a vested interest in saving people…unlike those open-world games.

About Reggie

Just a dude writing a heavy metal blog and always on the prowl for a cool metal show. I am also a family man...first and foremost!

Posted on July 17, 2013, in Reggie's Top 25 Video Games, Videogames and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Excellent choices! One of those makes it into my top 10 🙂
    I loved Oddworld. I recently heard an HD remake is coming out/is out and when it gets released on the PC I will be happily revisiting the Oddworld game again. Also, did you ever play Oddworld:Stranger Wrath, it’s one of the best hidden gem shooters ever. Basically a Spaghetti Western in the Oddworld universe, soo much fun.

    GTA3 is another stellar game. I think I did more just fucking around than actually playing. I like putting in the tank cheat code and doing that trick where you can make your tank fly and then land it in a group of pedestrians or jump onto a moving car and cruise around with a rifle picking anything that moves off. That game definitely helped warp my mind. My favorite of the series is Vice City, you can never go wrong with Iron Maiden on the soundtrack 😉

    And the original Legend of Zelda, what’s there to say that hasn’t already been said. I played that game so much as a kid and even revisiting it which I do every few years, it always holds up. It’s great that your kids are getting to experience the magic of Zelda. Parenting Win!!!

    And The Walking Dead, simply outstanding. That game did so much for me, especially as an adventure game fan who was watching one of his favorite genres go the way of the dodo. Dio bless Telltale and their commitment to bringing back a dying genre and making it fit the modern age. I’ve played through that game 3 times now to see how different choices effect the story, and while the story mainly plays out the same, the way the narrative unfolds is wildly different. It’s really cool. I snagged the new DLC for it called 300 Days, and it is worth getting as it acts as a bridge to the sequel which is coming out in some months. Did you get man tears while playing it? I did 😉

    And just to make a correction. The Walking Dead sequel you are refering to is not a sequel to The Walking Dead you played (the TellTale version). Walking Dead: Survival Instinct (made by Activision) is focused as a precursor to the TV show where as the TellTale Walking Dead game is more based on the comics and made with passion and love. The 2 have absolutely nothing to do with each other and the quality of that shitty cash grab sorry excuse for a game should not be put into consideration when deciding whether to play the TellTale Walking Dead adventure games. ProTip: If it has the TellTale logo on the game, buy immediately. If it has the Activision logo on the game, run like them zombies are chasing you.

    • Cool,thanks for explaining that other Walking Dead game. I saw the DLC you mentioned and I will have to pick that one up when I get the chance. Overall, it was one of the few games where you really do get involved with the characters and WANT to help them. And it sucks when you can’t. I will definitely be looking for the Oddworld refresh. I think my kids would love it too especially for the puzzle solving aspect of the game. I never played Oddworld beyond the first two games. Vice City was bad-ass wasn’t it?

  2. Sometimes I read so many blogs that I forget to check and comment on our own 😉
    I remember playing Oddworld, yes, it was cute! What’s wrong with saying cute? Haha..

    I’ve never tried GTA or The Walking dead games, but I do love playing a good racing game like Gran Tourismo, Forza or Test Drive Unlimited.

Leave a Reply

