Song of the Week: Wrong Turn by Mumakil

I’ll be quite honest with you.  Besides just having an outlet to run my mouth about metal and make lists about stuff, one really big perk about having a music blog is getting a good amount of promo albums sent directly to my email for me to listen to and hopefully write about.  Truth be told, a lot of the stuff sent really isn’t my cup of tea or just flat-out sucks and I tend to just let those ones fade away, but quite often something lands in the inbox that really impresses me or at least shows me a good time.  Actively seeking out new stuff can be a pain, even when using stuff like the suggest a band based on my listening habits feature on Spotify or the like (which most of the time just suggests something else I have in my library or sends me to some other band I don’t care for, over and over again).  And if you ever took a business class you know about the theory that ‘the customer doesn’t know what they want’.  Which is true.  If I’m on a thrash metal binge, I am not going to be seeking out doom metal band, but maybe doom metal is really just what I want at the moment and I just don’t know it yet.

Such is the case with this weeks song of the week.  If you haven’t noticed, I have been on a major doom/stoner kick the past good chunk of months and my ears have been being filled with nonstop heady grooves.  Yesterday I was sampling promos and clicked on the band Mumakil, which is more or less a giant war elephant (think that awesome battle scene in Lord of the Rings), and started listening to their upcoming record Flies Will Starve (out June 25 through Relapse Records) and realized I have been missing that brutally extreme metal end in my life recently.  Which led me to upping the heaviness of my current listening habits to pull myself into that nice varied median that I usually like to keep myself in.

Anywho, since I really can’t talk about the record until next week, I’ll just leave their new single “Wrong Turn” here for you to listen to at your leisure.  I must warn you though, even if the song is only a minute and a half long, it packs quite a punch and you may want to be in some form of wide open space because this shit will make you want to annihilate anything and everything in close proximity (in a good way 😉 ).  So, check it out, tell us what you thought, and remember Metal State does not hold any responsibility for what you destroy while listening.  Enjoy!! Peace Love and Metal!!!

About RiffRaff

Just takin' it easy for all you sinners.

Posted on July 10, 2013, in Song of the Week and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

