Mik’s Top 100 Favourite Albums of All Time #66-70

Top100A while ago, at the same time as Matt and Reggie, I posted my Top 100 All Time Favourite (Metal) Albums over at the forum The History of Metal on FB. It took a good amount of time and effort to put it together, but it was so much fun! My taste in metal is always changing, so the list will not always look the same. In fact, it’s already a bit different than it was when I first put it together and posted it on the forum almost a year ago.

I tried to limit myself to three albums per band to make the list a little more diverse and interesting. I don’t really consider the ‘test of time’-factor when selecting what albums that will go on my list, instead I measure it by how strongly the album has affected me emotionally and how much/often it has helped me through both good and bad phases in my life. That’s why you can find quite a few newer releases among my favourites too.

.

#70 Nightwish – Dark Passion Play

I was sad to see Anette Olzon leave Nightwish, she was the reason I started to really like this band and their music. Anette and Marco (bass player/vocals) really complement each other so well. The folk music influences makes this album more interesting than their previous ones and it doesn’t have a single bad song on it. Fortunately I had the chance to see them live with Anette after this album was just released and it was a really great show.

.

 

#69 Iced Earth – Horror Show

This is a dark, horror-themed album filled with epic songs. The best thing is the vocal arrangement and most noticeable Matt Barlow’s powerful voice that’s like a driving force through every track. The whole thing is catchy, beautiful and heavy.

 

.

#68 Pain of Salvation – One Hour By The Concrete Lake

One reason why I love Pain of Salvation is because they write songs that are more than just songs. They are a story, an emotional journey and an unusual experience. You never know where they will take you. This is an aggressive album, a desperate, majestic, unique and captivating collection of songs. It’s a concept album about a man that works in the weapon industry when he begins to question the morals and ethics of his occupation. He travels around the world to discover what effects his duty at work has on the world. He’s just a wheel in a big machine…

 

.

#67 Dark Tranquillity – Character

‘Character’ is the best album from a band that consistently releases solid albums and keeps their music interesting by changing their sound slightly with each one. I like how they create songs with repetitive, heavy riffing and subtle melodies. It’s quite addictive.

.

#66 Borknagar – The Archaic Course

This release is less black metal and more folk/progressive than their first one and it has one of my favourite singers, ICS Vortex, on it. His strong and dramatic cleans sound just as good in Borknagar as they did in Dimmu Borgir, although he gets much more time to show off his pipes in this band. Every instrument shines; I love the bass-work, the intense drums and the driving guitars and the combination of heavy music and mostly clean vocals is something I really like, something that seems difficult to find in metal.

.
About Irmelinis

A friend told me that I was delusional. I almost fell off my unicorn.

Posted on July 5, 2013, in Metal Lists, Mik's Top 100 Albums and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Anette Olzon has a nice voice… which leaves the music as only flaw;-)

    The dark saga is in my Top 30 Alltime Favorites, but besides Something wicked I don’t own any other record. The dark saga is Power Metal stripped down from all the choirs/keyboard-stuff (which makes other bands like Blind Guardian great) and reduced to heavy, epic Power. Then the sadly started to ruin that ;-). Anyway, that is a good song.

    Character is my favorite Dark Tranquillity album as well. Pain Of Salvation is a band I always read about here and then forget to get a record. Not this time. I just purchased it. And the Borknagar record as well, because this songs sounds great. Very epic, beautiful melody and sublime vocals.

    • I usually have a hard time finding female fronted bands that I like (even more so when it comes to symphonic metal) and this is probably the only album of that style that I enjoy.

      Good to hear that you like Dark Tranquillity and I hope you’ll have a really good time listening to Pain of Salvation (which album did you get?) and Borknagar.

      • Because I don’t know which Pain Of Salvation album might be the best, I picked the one the song is from.

  2. Pain of Salvation does have quite a few albums to choose from. I’d say the first four albums (Entropia, One Hour By The Concrete Lake, The Perfect Element pt 1 and Remedy Lane) are similar in style, not too soft, not too heavy overall but with many heavier moments, with very “descriptive” and varied song structures and music. Out of those four I think Remedy Lane is the best one.

    Then you have “BE”, another concept album, that is totally different. It’s more or less a rock opera with an orchestra. A rock opera masterpiece, really. As a whole, it’s their best work, I know Matt agrees with me on this too. (the whole concert is on youtube)

    The live album 12:5 is completely acoustic and is a selection of their songs from different albums, but the songs are re-arranged. and not quite the same as the original album tracks. It’s a nice addition though and they made it very, very beautiful.

    Then comes Scarsick and it follows a different formula, it’s heavier, a bit more angry with lyrics about how fucked up today’s society is. At the same time it’s easier to follow and listen to and not as diverse.

    Road Salt 1 and 2 are two albums with an older 70’s prog-rock sound, that some people love, but I just can’t get into. They have too little bass and drums for my taste and go too far from PoS original sound. But I know people that think that the two Road Salts are amazing too, so it’s all about taste.

    So there’s Pain of Salvation’s discography for you 😉

  3. I like Anette; poor woman caught so much shit too. I liked the album as well and was pretty shocked when i found out she was out of the band. I hope the new girl is as strong as per predecessors. I recently got into Pain of Salvation, but only have Road Salt and Remedy Lane. I do like both albums and have yet to explore any of their other material. I keep hearing about Dark Tranquility. I do like the clips i have seen, but again the list of things I need to explore has grown so much. I will get to it at some point. Good strong list of bands.

Leave a Reply

