Reggie’s Top 25 Favorite Videogames of All-Time #20-16

yo_videogames__by_ry_spirit-d57k3ayAfter doing several “best of” lists centered on music, it’s time to turn attention to my favorite videogames.  Coming up with a best 25 was hard to do since I have been twiddling my joystick for quite some time now…since Atari – get your minds out of the gutter!  I can bet with quite certainty that some of my favorite games are long forgotten and left off this list, but for the sake of picking 25 games I looked at the ensemble of consoles and PC games I played over the years.  I think I captured the breadth of my favorite games across a spectrum of genres.  To put them in order was another task all-together since each game provided a different experience at a different point in my life.  So, I would place less emphasis on where the game is on my list and pay more attention to the fact that it made my list at all.  Of all the games I played in my life narrowing my favorites down to 25 speaks volumes of the game’s impact on me.  Enough rambling, let’s get on with the list!

# 20 – Mercenaries:  Playground of Destruction (Xbox) – Action

!!eBeQJgCGM~$(KGrHqYOKosE0fjFftocBNQtNYmU1g~~_35I never would have thought to play this game if it wasn’t for the demo disc I received with Xbox Magazine.  I threw it in, played the demo level and was instantly hooked.  The game plays a lot like Grand Theft Auto; an open world of potential mayhem.  Based around the map are different factions:  Allied Nations, South Korea, Russian Mafia, China, and North Korea.  Essentially, you take jobs from each faction trying not to end up in disfavor with the other factions.  If you take a job from the Allied Nations to kill a Russian mafia man, you may have to first steal one of their vehicles to infiltrate their neighborhood.  The game involves a delicate balance of pleasing all factions without upsetting them enough that they will automatically try to kill you when you pass through their territory.  Other than the main missions, there are many side missions to keep you busy.  And then, of course, there is just generalized mayhem for which you can earn money to purchase fun things that fall from the sky when you need it, like B-52 strikes for example.  Of course, this costs money.  This game was a huge sleeper hit.  I never played the second installment of the series; I heard it was plagued with bugs and glitches.

#19 – Need For Speed III:  Hot Pursuit (Playstation) – Racing

nfs3I’ve never really been floored by racing games, but what appealed to me about the Need For Speed franchise is the fact that the learning curve is minimal and the game is generally just fun to play.  The appeal of this particular 1998 release was both being chased by the cops and being the cop as well.  It allowed for multiplayer action where you get to chase or be chased by your friends in split screen action. There have been other “pursuit” games from this franchise over the years, but this one started it, therefore, it gets the nod on my overall list.  I have played numerous Need For Speed incarnations since it first debuted…some good, some not so good.  Overall it’s a game I look forward to playing.

#18 – Mario Kart Wii (Nintendo Wii) – Racing

showposterAnother fun to play racer makes the list.  Part of the reason this game was successful in my household was because it was family entertainment.  I never got too involved with the Wii overall, since it was mainly for my kids and I already have Xbox 360.  Anyway, Mario Kart provided many hours of fun for me and my children.  The overall concept and design is fairly simple, but it does take a bit of finesse when launching bananas and turtle shells at other racers…or trying to defend yourself when in the lead.  All of the favorite Nintendo characters are available for racing fun.  There really isn’t anything to not like about this game.

#17 – Air Combat or Ace Combat (Playstation) – Flying

air combatThis is another game franchise that spawned enough sequels to rival most other games.  I have played most of them, but the original game (Air Combat) is the one that started it.  The game eventually evolved into the Ace Combat series.  If I remember correctly, this was the game that prompted me to purchase a Sony Playstation.  Back in the day when you could rent the system, I grabbed this game along with the console and the rest, as they say, is history.  I got my first Playstation and thoroughly enjoyed this game.  I think I might have beaten it when I rented it and still bought it when I eventually bought the console.  The thing I liked about this game was the pretty good fictitious storyline and ease of use when flying the planes.  It didn’t go overboard with simulation making it clunky to fly.  It was a smooth game, even for its time.  What was also pretty cool was the bevy of modern fighter jets available to play.  The game has evolved quite a bit over the years and I have played most of them.

#16 – Medal of Honor: Airborne (Xbox 360) – Action/Shooter

931482_20070912_screen003Believe it or not, there was quite a good shooter series before Call of Duty came along and changed everything.  I really enjoyed the Medal of Honor series and Airborne was actually the 11th installment of the franchise.  The games weren’t very long, but were usually stacked with really good graphics, sound, and a great musical score.  One thing that was cool about this game was the fact that you had to paratroop into enemy territory.  This feature was also enabled for online action where allied troops actually parachuted into the map.  The only bummer was that occasionally you would be picked off while parachuting…which is actually goes against the Law of Armed Conflict…but, whatever it was a game.  Besides that, I was really into playing this game online and was quite good at it…a time before everyone geeked out on CoD…including me.  If you were to compare Medal of Honor and Call of Duty today, I say the story is better on MoH, but online action is better on CoD.  Unfortunately, no one can control the idiots who play online and ruin it for others…something that plagues all online games.

About Reggie

Just a dude writing a heavy metal blog and always on the prowl for a cool metal show. I am also a family man...first and foremost!

Posted on July 3, 2013, in Reggie's Top 25 Video Games, Videogames and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Some fun games on there. I especially enjoyed that Mercenaries game, and you’re right, the 2nd one was atrocious.
    And Mario Kart will forever be fun. My friends and I have been playing those games since the SNES and they never feel to lose any steam. Always a good time, until that goddamn blue shell is unleashed. I hate that thing!

    And that is pretty interesting that your aren’t allowed to shoot a person while parachuting. I figured that in war you just shoot the fuck out of anything that means to kill you and don’t use hollow tip bullets. I wonder how many irl really follow that rule?

    • Well, in the game you can shoot paratroopers, but in real life there are rules to war and unfortunately it’s usually us civilized countries that try to follow them. We don’t often go to war with….ah nevermind you know what i mean. When a troop gets shot at though, rules change.

  2. The only game I’ve played out of these is Mario Kart (not on Wii though). That game is so much fun, every time 🙂
    Mercenaries look interesting, and I enjoy playing racing games like Forza, Formula 1 and Test Drive Unlimited. Haven’t tried the Need for Speed series yet.

Leave a Reply

