What’s Cookin’ In The Inbox (June 28, 2013)

cedar cow mailboxSummer is getting hotter and so is our inbox. Ok, that was lame.  I just really want to say that we have new stuff we think you might like.  There is actually something that popped into our inbox that has me completely intrigued because I saw a cool vocalist’s name attached to the project.  I will get to that in a little bit.  For now, it’s time to take a few minutes to discuss (promote, or whatever you want to call it) a few bands.  This looks like it’s going to be a solid bunch of bands for you.  I’ll keep it brief and let the music do the talking as always.  Enjoy and of course, we love to hear your thoughts.

Megosh

Out of Baltimore comes Megosh, more or less a Hard Rock band.  They have a catchy vibe that I wouldn’t exactly call metal, but more like Rock or Indie and there is nothing wrong with that.  They are part of Revival Recordings.  Check out the Soundcloud tune below.

Wisdom of Crowds

This is the one that intrigued be greatly.  Wisdom of Crowds is a collaboration effort with Bruce Soord (The Pineapple Thief) and Jonas Renkse (Katatonia). Though I am unfamiliar with Soord, I am a fan of Katatonia and Renkse’s vocal style.  Soord’s musical ability suits Renkse’s vocals quite well.  This collaboration is a match that works.  Click here to check out the video at Vimeo.  Their album is out now.

Destroyers of All

This Portuguese band is a straightforward Thrash/Death metal band that mixes some cool grooves and tight riffs.  They have a classic feel to them which I like.  Their EP Into The Fire was released on May 31st and they are currently unsinged.

Deals Death

I haven’t heard this one before, but the email said they struck a deal with Strikhult Productions.  I am sure that must be good for the band.   This is my first taste of the Deals Death and I dig it.  This video had half a million views, so I must be living under a rock for not noticing them yet. Their last album, Elite, was released in 2011.  The latest word is we should be seeing something new from the band later on in 2013.  I look forward to it.

Mindshift

Hailing from Stockhom, Sweden, Mindshift is melodic and a little doomy and then the lyrics kick in; pretty sick if you ask me.  He’s got a hell of a growl and there is also a clean side.  The song presented here is called My Dark Passenger.  I wonder if these guys watch Dexter?  Either way, pretty good song.  Check it out.

About Reggie

Just a dude writing a heavy metal blog and always on the prowl for a cool metal show. I am also a family man...first and foremost!

Posted on June 28, 2013, in News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I haven’t heard of Deals Death before either, despite the large number of views on their video. They are exactly like how I’d like Children of Bodom to sound, very much alike CoB’s older material. Energetic, pissed off and powerful. That’s pretty awesome. I’ll be keeping an eye out 🙂

  2. I don’t like Megosh’s vocals, but the other songs all sound pretty good. I like the Mindshift song. I hear a bit Dark Tranquillity a Katatonia-like chorus. Very good! Wisdom Of Crowds sounds like I expected it. Another band reminding me of Katatonia is In The Silence:

Leave a Reply

