Mik’s Top 100 Favourite Albums of All Time #75-71

Top100

A while ago, at the same time as Matt and Reggie, I posted my Top 100 All Time Favourite (Metal) Albums over at the forum The History of Metal on FB. It took a good amount of time and effort to put it together, but it was so much fun! My taste in metal is always changing, so the list will not always look the same. In fact, it’s already a bit different than it was when I first put it together and posted it on the forum almost a year ago.

I tried to limit myself to three albums per band to make the list a little more diverse and interesting. I don’t really consider the ‘test of time’-factor when selecting what albums that will go on my list, instead I measure it by how strongly the album has affected me emotionally and how much/often it has helped me through both good and bad phases in my life. That’s why you can find quite a few newer releases among my favourites too.

#75 Symphony X – The Divine Wings of Tragedy

I discovered this band in a record store in Stockholm. This song ‘Sea of Lies’ was playing through the speakers, I liked it immediately; the melodic heaviness with dark undertones and fantastic choruses and composition was something I hadn’t heard before and I bought the album the same day. I’m glad I did, it has given me so many great experiences over the years. Released in 1997, it’s still their best album in my opinion.

.

#74 Dimmu Borgir – Stormblåst

Sorrowful and depressing ‘Stormblåst’ is a classic Dimmu Borgir record. This is raw black metal with piano and synth effects, but much more emotional and a bit slower than their earlier albums. It bears a good balance of the “old” and “new” Dimmu Borgir sound, of which I prefer the newer sound, as you will see later in this list.

.

#73 Elysian – Wires of Creation

Aggressive music with a melancholic mood, with bits of traditional heavy metal, thrash and some proggy influences at times makes this album really enjoyable. Awesome riffs, chugging guitars, great bass lines and melodies, it has all you can really ask for in a melodic death metal piece.

.

72 Bathory – Nordland I

Icy, dead landscapes. Horses and fur cloaks in snowstorms over barren lands. Icy breath and frozen fingers. The dark mountains loom behind me and a vast sea lies ahead. I take one last glance at the snowy fields while the chilly wind takes my boat out to sea. That’s the pictures I get in my head when I put on this album. An honest, real, epic Viking journey, that’s what Bathory’s ‘Nordland I’ is.

.

#71 Istapp – Blekinge

Catchy, cool and fun melodic black metal. Just what I need sometimes, in between all the serious music. These guys are into it to a 100%, they have a storyline , costumes and an epic soundtrack for hiking in the forest during the winter. Even though it’s about snow, winter and freezing cold stuff, there’s still inescapable warmth in their tone and music.

.
About Irmelinis

A friend told me that I was delusional. I almost fell off my unicorn.

Posted on June 28, 2013, in Metal Lists, Mik's Top 100 Albums and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. A bit of a selection I never heard of. I really like Symphony X’s Iconoclast, but have yet to check out older material. What you have posted here is really good. I know little of Dimmu, but have their latest two albums…I think. Still a hard genre to get into for me, but I’m getting there.

    I like that Elysian song too. I never heard them either. This set of five was like a music sampling adventure…still so much to learn.

    • It’s cool that you listened through them. 🙂 It’s always nice to be able to show someone music they haven’t heard before. I’m the opposite, I haven’t really heard “Iconoclast” or Dimmu’s latest albums, so I guess I need to go there next.

      Oh, that whole Elysian album is great, you commented on my review (with full album stream) of it, but not sure if you listened to it, hehe. It wasn’t on the top 100 list I made a year ago, I’ve made some changes to it since I’ve discovered so many albums that has meant a lot to me the past year only.

      • Well, if I commented on it, I probably sampled most or all of it. The problem I have is that I fail to write down things I want to look into at some point later on. Funny, I make notes and lists all the time of things I want to write about, but only have four albums on my list of albums I want to buy that I haven’t got around to yet. I need to be better at that. I got into Dimmu during the In Sorte Diablo album. I liked the song The Serpentine offering. It sounds a little more commercialized compared to some of the older stuff I have heard…sort of like what people say of Cradle of Filth’s newer music.

  2. Yeah, it happens to me all the time too, I forget bands I thought were good and that I wanted to check out more. It takes two or three reminders before I remember..

    Iconoclast seem like a solid album, just like the rest of Symphony X’s discography, they’re like Iced Earth and Amon Amarth, they keep releasing good, balanced albums without surprises or without straying from their sound much. It’s nice to have bands like that.

    That Dimmu song is really good! I absolutely love the clean vocals by ICS Vortex, he adds so much feeling to their songs (he’s singing on four of their albums, In Sorte Diaboli being the last one and has also been in Borknagar). I need to buy this album 😀
    I haven’t heard much good about their latest ‘Abrahadabra’, and it doesn’t have Vortex on cleans, so it’ll be interesting to hear that one..

  3. Nice choices. As always you picked some bands I don’t know. I like the Elysian song, its like you described it.
    Was Istapp the band with the Snö video you’ve posted? I’m not considering it mindblowing, but I its good.
    I never got into Dimmu Borgir, I just had heard some singles and decided that this symphonic Black Metal thing can wait till I find the time for it. This song sounds completely different from the newer songs I know (which are the only DB-songs I know ). Hard to believe it’s the same band as in Serpentine offering. Maybe I should start with old Dimmu Borgir if I want to check them out.
    I have bought Symphonic X record some weeks ago, but still haven’t listen to it. I will catch up on that and hope it doesn’t end up in my “Yeah, Dream Theater is a good band, but I don’t really touch me”-corner:-D

    I’ve came across this band PALMS (3 Isis-members & Chino Moreno) and thought you might enjoy it (to tell the truth, I’m not really;-)).

    • Yeah, that’s the same Istapp band that made the song ‘Snö’. Nope, nothing mindblowing, but it has many other good sides and is extremely enjoyable 🙂

      There’s quite a big difference between older Dimmu and their newer style. Both production-wise, vocal-wise and when it comes to symphonic elements. I like both “versions” though.
      Haha, at the moment I think Symphony X is way better than Dream Theater, if you can compare. But they have more power metal elements, so naturally their songs are more powerful.

      Palms is on my listen-to-list, I do like that kind of music in between all the metal, and I believe Matt (who also likes both ISIS and Deftones) is going to write a review for the album here soon.

Leave a Reply

