Mik’s Top 50 – Intros That Instantly Grab My Attention #17-18

#18 Animals as Leaders – Odessa

This intro sounds like something out of a video game or a tune I could set as my alarm on my phone in the morning.  You have no idea what kind of song to expect when first hearing it and that’s partly what makes it so good. It’s a gentle electronic sound, but not too irritating, intro that leads into an instrumental song with wonderful guitars. ‘Odessa’ is from Animals as Leader’s second album ‘Weightless’, released in 2011.

.

#17 Decapitated – Spheres of Madness

I have noticed, in my search for good intros, that most guitar-riffing intros sound pretty much the same and it usually isn’t very long before the vocalists starts singing and the intro-part is over. Here’s an intro-riff that goes on for over a minute, it’s quite minimalistic but has just enough variation to not make me lose interest in the song. ‘Spheres of Madness’ is written by the Polish tech/death metal band Decapitated and is from the album ‘Nihility, released in 2002.

.
About Irmelinis

A friend told me that I was delusional. I almost fell off my unicorn.

Posted on June 24, 2013, in Metal Lists, Mik's Top 50 Intros and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

