Musings of the Heavy Metal Hippie: Quake Meat by Astra and Voyage/Paralysis by Diagonal

space-hubble-2010_1622267iI haven’t done one of these in a while, sorry about that. I have however came across a couple of bands that really do fit the bill for my Heavy Metal Hippie moniker quite well. Stoner psychedelic hard prog rock. Just let that glorious genre name sink in a bit. Beautiful, isn’t it. You get the thick grooves of the Stoner genre, that ’60s/’70s classic feel with the Psychedelic and Prog, plus the edge of hard rock. Surely some kind of witchcraft. I totally love it. It’s like Camel, King Crimson, and Jefferson Airplane loaded up a spaceship with the contents of Hunter S. Thompson’s car trunk and their instruments and took a voyage into the far reaches of outer space.
Both of these bands share quite a similar sound going by the songs I’ve heard so far, where Astra tends to have vocals in their songs and Diagonal doesn’t. So if you’re in the mood for some tripped out music, give these bands a shot. Enjoy!! Peace Love and Metal!!!!

About RiffRaff

Just takin' it easy for all you sinners.

Posted on June 14, 2013, in Heavy Metal Hippie and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’ve heard from different quarters (proper expression?) that Astra is a really good band. This track confirms what I’ve heard. I didn’t know Diagonal. They sound quite promising. Also thank you for reminding me of Camel. Now I know what I will listen to next. Also I have no idea who “Mirage” will work while cleaning the house;-P

    Also there is a band I stumbled across, which might attract your foundness of female Rock singers as well as mine. Its released via SubPop and not always that good on the entire album as the following song is (maybe the best one), but the music has an intense atmosphere to it, which you slowly sink in.

Leave a Reply

