Song of the Week – Halo of Blood

I guess it’s time to feature something new.  Children of Bodom released Halo of Blood yesterday and though I haven’t had much time to really check it out, I do look forward to seeing if there is any improvement.  Not that I thought their last album, Relentless, Reckless Forever, was bad, it was better than Blooddrunk.  I am not sure if that holds any weight in the grand scheme of things…but let’s move on.

The title track of the album is presented before us as the Song of the Week.  I have to say I am surprised by the aggressive intro to this song.  It does level out a bit with traditional Children of Bodom melody, but the bursts of near Black metal riffs impress me.  Overall, it’s not bad and I look forward to listening to the rest of the album in the very near future.  What say you?  Improvement, status quo, or a step in the wrong direction?

About Reggie

Just a dude writing a heavy metal blog and always on the prowl for a cool metal show. I am also a family man...first and foremost!

Posted on June 12, 2013, in Song of the Week and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I think it’s a small step in the right direction, the music sounds similar to ‘Hatecrew death roll’ (one of their best ones) and that’s good. I miss a bit of the energy and powerful sound they used to have on that album, this sounds like a half-hearted effort. I used to like CoB for their relentless power and anger, it was music that always gave me a good energy-boost. This is a little more “droning” black metal-y almost. But I’m curious about the rest of the album.

Leave a Reply

