Video of the Week: Can I Play With Madness by Iron Maiden

Ok, since I am going to Sonisphere Italy tomorrow to see Ghost, Mastodon, Megadeth, and IRON F’N MAIDEN I really haven’t been listen to/watching anything other than Maiden videos lately, so I’m a bit behind the curve on what’s new and cool this week in heavy metal video land.  So let’s take a trip down memory lane.

My favorite Iron Maiden video ever is “Can I Play With Madness”.  When I was a budding Iron Maiden fan I thought this was the coolest thing in the world mainly because of the short animation of Eddie the Head and would swear that there was some kind of Iron Maiden cartoon in England.  I would beg my parents to find the cartoon for me and would drag them to the TV whenever the video came on to prove to them an Iron Maiden cartoon really existed.  Of course they tried to tell me it was just a promotional video and there wasn’t really an Eddie the Head cartoon but I wasn’t having any of that.  So, after many months of disappointment of never getting my Iron Maiden cartoon I just settled for the 2 seconds of animation in the music video which I recorded with our shiny new VCR and would rewind and re-watch this video ad nauseum.  And the lizards in the video names are Rocky and Razor and they can transform into huge dragons and they eat mean teachers.

What’s your favorite Iron Maiden video and why?  Enjoy!! Peace Love and Metal!!!

About RiffRaff

Just takin' it easy for all you sinners.

Posted on June 7, 2013, in Video of the Week and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Wow, what a great line-up. I’m envious. My favorite Maiden video isn’t for a song, it’s a concert video from the 1982 Number of the Beast tour. Takes me back to the first time I saw them. Most recently saw them again during the Somewhere Back in Time tour (2009) and they were fantastic. I look forward to reading your report on what’s going to be an amazing event.

  2. I wanted to see Iron Maiden this year in Frankfurt, but it was already sold out when I knew i could spend that money. But I already seen them on their last tour and it was one of the three or four best shows Ive ever seen. Also this years support bands (Ghost, Sabaton and Voodoo Circle) are not a bit as good as Papa Roach, In Flames and Mastodon.
    I have the the Visions of the beast DVD with all their videos. It has been some time since I watched it the last time but I can still recall the Holy smoke video with Bruce singing with a pink shirt in a field of flowers. Really trashy and fun:-D

  3. That’s a hell of a lineup man, I am jealous and envious. Be sure not to boo Megadeth, but at the end of the day they are meticulous live and should be good. And this is your first ime for Ghost right…they are great even on a festival stage; let us know how it goes. What else is on the bill you might be able to see? I’ve only seen Maiden once and I hope can see them next time they come to my area. \m/

Leave a Reply

